Lionel Messi leads 2024 player salaries guide: MLS Players Association


The MLS Players Association (MLSPA) has released its 2024 Salary Guide, featuring salary information for all MLS players under contract as of April 25, 2024.

The guide contains players’ current annualized base salary and their annualized average guaranteed compensation.

Inter Miami CF superstar Lionel Messi leads the pack, ahead of Toronto FC's Lorenzo Insigne. Sergio Busquets (Inter Miami), Xherdan Shaqiri (Chicago Fire FC) and Sebastián Driussi (Austin FC) complete the top five.

See the top 25 below, as sorted by guaranteed compensation.

MLSPA: Top 25 MLS player compensation (2024)
Guaranteed Compensation
1. Lionel Messi
Inter Miami CF
2. Lorenzo Insigne 
Toronto FC
3. Sergio Busquets
Inter Miami CF
4. Xherdan Shaqiri
Chicago Fire FC
5. Sebastián Driussi
Austin FC
6. Federico Bernardeschi
Toronto FC
7. Emil Forsberg
New York Red Bulls
8. Héctor Herrera
Houston Dynamo FC
9. Hany Mukhtar
Nashville SC
10. Carles Gil
New England Revolution
11. Christian Benteke
D.C. United
12. Luis Muriel
Orlando City SC
13. Luciano Acosta
FC Cincinnati
14. Denis Bouanga
15. Alan Pulido
Sporting Kansas City
16. Teemu Pukki
Minnesota United FC
17. Hugo Cuypers
Chicago Fire FC
18. Walker Zimmerman
Nashville SC
19. Diego Rossi
Columbus Crew
20. Joseph Paintsil
LA Galaxy
21. Ryan Gauld
Vancouver Whitecaps FC
22. Sam Surridge
Nashville SC
23. Cucho Hernández
Columbus Crew
24. Raúl Ruidíaz
Seattle Sounders FC
25. Jonathan Rodríguez
Portland Timbers

The annualized average guaranteed compensation (guaranteed comp) number includes a player's base salary and all signing and guaranteed bonuses annualized over the term of the player's contract, including option years.

The annualized average guaranteed compensation number also includes any marketing bonus and any agent's fees, but doesn’t include performance bonuses since there’s no guarantee players will hit those bonuses.