Add another one to the list of oh-so-close offside calls in the 2013 postseason.
This time, the call went against the Dynamo after Kofi Sarkodie had the ball in the back of the net in the first leg of their Eastern Conference Championship clash with Sporting Kansas City.
Sarkodie looked to be clean through on goal after an inch-perfect through pass from Omar Cummings and slotted it into the far corner past Jimmy Nielsen, only assistant referee Adam Wienckowski had his flag raised for offside after Matt Besler (Sporting KC No. 5) stepped at the last possible second. But on the replays, it looks like a matter of inches:
And remember, offside applies to any part of a player's body he can use to score. So if his arm is extended past the imaginary line Besler created, he's still on, but if any other body part is beyond that line, then he's offisde.
Sporting Kansas City supporter Greg Boege studed the still image a bit closer and came to the conclusion that he was offside.
For what it's worth, Nielsen stopped playing once he saw the AR's flag go up, so there's no guarantee it would have been a goal had play been allowed to continue. But Houston will certainly be wondering about the call considering the fine margins and quality finish from Sarkodie.
Was Sarkodie offside? Would it have been a goal if it hadn't been called? Make your voice heard in the comments below?