CenturyLink Field
Getty Images

CONCACAF names 13 US cities as 2013 Gold Cup hosts

CONCACAF, North American soccer's governing body, revealed the 13 host cities for this summer's 2013 Gold Cup on Wednesday, with six first-time host cities among those scheduled to host between July 7-28.

The event will also feature three of MLS' newest stadiums for the first time, including Portland's JELD-WEN Field, Houston's BBVA Compass Stadium and Salt Lake's Rio Tinto Stadium. New York's Red Bull Arena and Seattle's CenturyLink Field will return to hosting duties, though LA's Home Depot Center and Kansas City's Sporting Park, hosts in 2011, are not on the list.

The cup will also return to five venues from its previous editions, including Cowboys Stadium (2009, '11); Soldier Field (2007, '09, '11); the Rose Bowl (1991, '02, '11); Red Bull Arena ('11) and CenturyLink Field ('05, '09).

The full list of host cities and venues is as follows:

  • Dallas – Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, Texas)
  • Atlanta – Georgia Dome (Atlanta)
  • Baltimore – M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore)
  • Chicago – Soldier Field (Chicago)
  • Denver – Sports Authority Field at Mile High (Denver)
  • Hartford – Rentschler Field (East Hartford, Conn.)
  • Houston – BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston)
  • Los Angeles – Rose Bowl (Pasadena, Calif.)
  • Miami – Sun Life Stadium (Miami Gardens, Fla.)
  • New York– Red Bull Arena (Harrison, N.J.)
  • Portland – JELD-WEN Field (Portland, Ore.)
  • Salt Lake City – Rio Tinto Stadium (Sandy, Utah)
  • Seattle – CenturyLink Field (Seattle)

A venue for the final has yet to be announced.

The Gold Cup is a 12-team competition held every two years that serves as North America's top international competition. The United States, Canada and Mexico qualified automatically, and will be joined by Cuba, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti and Martinique from the Caribbean, Costa Rica, Honduras, Belize, and El Salvador from Central America, with Panama and Guatemala set to play off for the final Central American spot on Friday.