The road to MLS Cup 2021 on Dec. 11 runs through Gillette Stadium and the New England Revolution.

Hosting priority goes in order of the Supporters' Shield table, and New England get first dibs after pacing the way with 73 points, a new MLS single-season record. As long as they're still in the postseason, the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy will be lifted in Foxborough.

But if the Revs are eliminated, then hosting priority shifts from the Eastern Conference leaders to the Western Conference with Portland Timbers. That chance comes after Portland upset the No. 1 seed in the West, the Colorado Rapids, on Thanksgiving Day and both Sporting Kansas City and Seattle Sounders were upset in dramatic fashion by No. 7-seeded Real Salt Lake.

The only team that can't host MLS Cup, provided they're still in the running, is RSL. The Utah-based club secured the lowest regular-season points total of the six remaining Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs teams.

Here's the full hosting order for the remaining clubs:

  1. New England Revolution
  2. Portland Timbers
  3. Philadelphia Union
  4. Nashville SC
  5. New York City FC