Gio Reyna - 2020 - USMNT vs Cuba - close up

Former NYCFC academy standout Gio Reyna voted US Soccer Young Male Player of the Year

Add another milestone to Gio Reyna’s breakthrough year. The former New York City FC academy standout has been voted the 2020 U.S. Soccer Young Male Player of the Year, it was announced Tuesday.

The 18-year-old attacking midfielder made a big jump for club and country this year, making his anticipated debut for the US men’s national team in an international friendly in a 0-0 draw against Wales on Nov. 12, followed by his first goal in a 6-2 win over Panama four days later. 

Watch: Gio Reyna scores first USMNT goal 

The year started with Reyna breaking into Borussia Dortmund’s first team. After making his Bundesliga debut on Jan. 18 at Augsburg, he has made 39 appearances in 2020 across all competitions, tallying five goals and seven assists.

Reyna opened eyes with a banger of a first professional goal against Werder Bremen in his first DFB-Pokal appearance in February.

He followed that by contributing to both goals in a 2-1 win over Paris-Saint Germain in his UEFA Champions League debut.

Reyna has become a regular Dortmund starter in the 2020-21 season. He’s played in all 13 league games for the Black and Yellow this fall, starting 10 while adding three goals and four assists. Reyna has also made his mark in the Champions League, where he’s started four games and appeared in all six of Dortmund’s matches.

Reyna wins the 2020 Young Player of the Year award after previous nominations in 2018 and 2019 for his leading role with the US Under-17 youth national team during its 2018-19 cycle.

Before joining Dortmund, he played for New York City FC in the U.S. Soccer Development Academy, earning 2018 East Conference Player of the Year honors and helping his team to the U-18/19 Academy Championship.

Votes for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards are collected from national team coaches, players who earned a cap in 2020, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes’ Council, American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches, select media members and former players and administrators.

Austin FC coach Josh Wolff was the first recipient of the award in 1998. Previous winners include Landon Donovan, DaMarcus Beasley, Jozy Altidore and Michael Bradley. Sergino Dest was the 2019 winner.