Seattle Sounders lift MLS Cup 2019
Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

The longest playoff streaks in MLS history: Seattle Sounders lead the way

When it comes to measuring consistent excellence in MLS, the longest consecutive streaks of Audi MLS Cup Playoffs qualification is especially informative.

The Seattle Sounders own the longest such stretch in league history, as the Rave Green have never missed the postseason since entering MLS in 2009 as an expansion team. While it took Seattle nearly a decade to reach the league's peak, consistency paid off in 2016 when they topped Toronto FC in penalty kicks to win MLS Cup. Head coach Brian Schmetzer's group, of course, added another MLS Cup triumph over TFC in 2019 at CenturyLink Field.

Then, the LA Galaxy are second on that list with 10 consecutive playoff appearances from 1996-2005. LA have turned their regular postseason participation into a league-record five MLS Cup titles. The Galaxy are equaled by the New York Red Bulls' 10 straight years from 2010-19, and the New England Revolution and Sporting Kansas City round out the top five with two separate stretches of qualifying in eight straight years.

Orlando City SC have yet to make it since joining MLS in 2015, and the story's hardly written for FC Cincinnati, Inter Miami and Nashville SC. Check out the full top 10 list below:

Longest postseason qualification streaks in MLS history

  • Seattle Sounders (2009-2019) - 11
  • LA Galaxy (1996-2005) - 10
  • New York Red Bulls (2010-2019) - 10
  • New England Revolution (2002-2009)  - 8
  • Sporting Kansas City (2011-2018) - 8
  • FC Dallas (1996-2002) - 7
  • Real Salt Lake (2008-2014) - 7
  • Chicago Fire FC (1998-2003) - 6
  • Colorado Rapids (2002-2006) - 5
  • San Jose Earthquakes (2001-2005) - 5