Concacaf Under-17 Championship logo

United States, Canada drawn into same group for Concacaf U-17 Championship

The United States and Canada have been drawn into the same group for the 2019 Concacaf Under-17 Championship following the official draw at Concacaf headquarters Tuesday in Miami.

The tournament, which will be played at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla., will be played in three rounds. The qualifying round will take place from March 16-24, for Groups A and C) and April 1-9, for Groups B and D). The final championship (Groups E, F, G, H and the knockout stage) will be played from May 1-16.

There are a total of 35 teams competing in eight groups. The top finisher in each of the first four groups from the qualifying round will advance to the knockout stage.

The qualifying round consists of the following teams.

  • Group A: Nicaragua, Grenada, Cayman Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands, St. Vincent & The Grenadines
  • Group B: Dominican Republic, Antigua & Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Montserrat
  • Group C: Guadeloupe, Bahamas, Aruba, Saint Martin, Bonaire
  • Group D: St. Kitts & Nevis, Puerto Rico, Martinique, Anguilla

The top three finishers in each of the next four groups during the group stage will join the four teams from the qualifying round into the single-elimination Round of 16.

The group stage consists of the following teams.

  • Group E: Mexico, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Bermuda
  • Group F: United States, Canada, Guatemala, Barbados
  • Group G: Honduras, Haiti, El Salvador, Guyana
  • Group H: Honduras, Panama, Suriname, Curacao

The four teams that reach the semifinals qualify for the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru.

Mexico has won three consecutive Concacaf Under-17 Championship tournaments, defeating the United States in a penalty kick shootout in the 2017 final.

LIVE YOUR COLORS: Download the free MLS app - The official MLS app gets a major update for 2019, making it easier than ever to keep up with your favorite club, check standings, watch videos and much more.