2016-17 CONCACAF Champions League draw unfolds in Miami tonight

The five MLS teams set to take part in the 2016-17 CONCACAF Champions League will soon learn their group-stage fates.

CONCACAF will hold the draw of the upcoming edition of the tournament tonight at 8 pm ET in Miami Beach, Florida. The draw will be televised live on Univision Deportes Network in the United States, and streamed live worldwide on the official CONCACAF Facebook page. 

The 24 contestants that qualified for the competition, including the five MLS sides, will be sorted into eight groups of three teams using pots for the groups and clubs. The Group Stage of the Champions League will take place from August to October of this year, and the knockout rounds are set for early 2017.

Based on the results of the last four editions of the competition under the current format, the teams will be distributed as follows (in alphabetical order by country and then by chronological order qualified): 

Pot 1: Police United FC (BLZ), Central F.C. (TRI), W Connection F.C. (TRI), Don Bosco FC (HAI), Real Estelí F.C. (NCA), C.D. Plaza Amador (PAN), Alianza F.C. (SLV), C.D. Dragón or C.D. Águila (SLV) 

Pot 2: Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN), Club Sport Herediano (CRC), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), Antigua FC (GUA), C.S.D. Comunicaciones or C.D. Suchitepéquez (GUA), C.D. Honduras Progreso (HON), Club Deportivo Olimpia (HON), Deportivo Árabe Unido (PAN)

Pot 3: Pumas UNAM (MEX), Tigres UANL (MEX), CF Monterrey (MEX), CF Pachuca (MEX), Sporting Kansas City (USA), New York Red Bulls (USA), FC Dallas (USA), Portland Timbers (USA)

The 2016-17 Champions League will qualify the winning team directly to the FIFA Club World Cup 2017. Liga MX's Club America are currently the reigning back-to-back champions after winning the tournament in 2015 and 2016.