Jesse Marsch - New York Red Bulls - Coach of the Year

Jesse Marsch's impressive first year at the helm of the New York Red Bulls has reached an off-field apex: Marsch has been voted the 2015 MLS Coach of the Year, Major League Soccer announced on Tuesday.

Marsch won the award after a strong season that saw the Red Bulls win their second Supporters' Shield in three years. The 42-year-old head coach took over a team that lost heavy star power in the offseason due to the departures of Thierry Henry and Tim Cahill, then guided the club to a 60-point finish via an 18-10-6 record and has the Red Bulls in the 2015 Eastern Conference Championship, one step away from hosting MLS Cup.

Making the job Marsch has done even more impressive are the circumstances in which he excelled. Marsch arrived after the controversial dismissal of beloved head coach Mike Petke, but the high-pressing style he implemented helped win supporters over while racking up points in the standings.

Marsch beat out FC Dallas manager Oscar Pareja and Vancouver Whitecaps boss Carl Robinson for this season's award. He joins an impressive list of coaches to claim the accolade, one that includes current LA Galaxy honcho Bruce Arena and former Chicago Fire chief Bob Bradley, one of Marsch's coaching mentors.

The Coach of the Year Award was voted on by MLS club management, media and MLS players.

2015 MLS Coach of the Year voting

% Club
% Media
% Players
Weighted Total
<strong>Jesse Marsch (NY)</strong>
Oscar Pareja (DAL)
Carl Robinson (VAN)

MLS Coach of the Year winners

  • 2015: Jesse Marsch, New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Ben Olsen, D.C. United
  • 2013: Caleb Porter, Portland Timbers
  • 2012: Frank Yallop, San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2011: Bruce Arena, LA Galaxy
  • 2010: Schellas Hyndman, FC Dallas
  • 2009: Bruce Arena, LA Galaxy
  • 2008: Sigi Schmid, Columbus Crew
  • 2007: Preki, Chivas USA
  • 2006: Bob Bradley, Chivas USA
  • 2005: Dominic Kinnear, San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2004: Greg Andrulis, Columbus Crew
  • 2003: Dave Sarachan, Chicago Fire
  • 2002: Steve Nicol, New England Revolution
  • 2001: Frank Yallop, San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2000: Bob Gansler, Kansas City Wizards
  • 1999: Sigi Schmid, LA Galaxy
  • 1998: Bob Bradley, Chicago Fire
  • 1997: Bruce Arena, D.C. United
  • 1996: Thomas Rongen, Tampa Bay Mutiny