MLS Cup champions Columbus Crew SC clinch 2021 Concacaf Champions League berth

CCL - Concacaf Champions League logo - generic image

By winning a second MLS Cup in club history, Columbus Crew SC also clinched their berth in the 2021 Concacaf Champions League, the fourth MLS club to book their ticket.

The Crew cap the U.S.-based berths, joining the Philadelphia Union (Supporters’ Shield winners), the Portland Timbers (MLS is Back Tournament winners) and Atlanta United, who clinched their berth as 2019 U.S. Open Cup champions after the 2020 competition was not played this year due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic. 

There’s a chance a fifth MLS team also competes in the 2021 version of the CCL. Toronto FC face Forge FC in the 2020 Canadian Championship Final, which will be played in early 2021 with a date and location to be determined in consideration of club and league schedules.

MLS teams to compete in 2021 Concacaf Champions League

  • Columbus Crew SC: MLS Cup 2020 winners 
  • Philadelphia Union: 2020 Supporters' Shield winners
  • Portland Timbers: MLS is Back Tournament winners 
  • Atlanta United: 2019 US Open Cup winners