Field set for 2015 Latino del Año award

2015 Latino Del Año promo

The field is set, now it’s up to you to decide the 2015 MLS Latino del Año.

The staffs of, and, as well as talent from Univision Deportes, FOX Deportes and ESPN Deportes ranked 32 nominees for the annual honor, placing them into eight groups of four based on their overall ranking. The highest vote-getter from each group will advance to the eight-man knockout round, where players will face off in head-to-head matchups until a winner is decided.

Players born in Latin America and Spain and those born in the US or Canada with Hispanic roots were eligible to be nominated. Argentina leads the way with eight nominees, while Colombia, Costa Rica and the US all put four players in the running.

Headliners for this year’s award include FC Dallas and Colombian national team winger Fabián Castillo, Orlando City and Brazilian national team star Kaká, LA Galaxy and Mexico attacker Giovani dos Santos and New York City FC’s David Villa.

The full field is below, and voting windows are as follows:

  • GROUP STAGE: Wednesday, Nov. 18 – Sunday, Nov. 22
  • ROUND OF 16: Monday, Nov. 23 – Wednesday, Nov. 25
  • QUARTERFINALS: Thursday, Nov. 26 – Sunday, Nov. 29
  • FINAL (4 players): Monday, Nov. 30 – Thursday, Dec. 3

The Winner will be announced Friday, December 4

Fabián Castillo (FC Dallas)
Johan Venegas (Montreal Impact)
Cristián Maidana (Philadelphia Union)
Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake)

Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact)
Nelson Haedo Valdez (Seattle Sounders)
Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution)
Diego Fagúndez (New England Revolution)

Federico Higuaín (Columbus Crew SC)
Aníbal Godoy (San Jose Earthquakes)
Waylon Francis (Columbus Crew SC)
Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy)

Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City)
Matías Laba (Vancouver Whitecaps)
Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
David Villa (New York City FC)

Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers)
Juninho (LA Galaxy)
Darwin Cerén (Orlando City SC)
Jesse González (FC Dallas)

Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps)
Octavio Rivero (Vancouver Whitecaps)
Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy)
Diego Chará (Portland Timbers)

Kaká (Orlando City SC)
Fabián Espíndola (D.C. United)
Rodney Wallace (Portland Timbers)
Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

Mauro Díaz (FC Dallas)
Marco Pappa (Seattle Sounders)
Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle Sounders)
Felipe (New York Red Bulls)