Chicago Fire's Sean Johnson replaces injured DC United goalkeeper Bill Hamid at US national team camp

Sean Johnson - Chicago Fire - Staring

There has been another goalkeeper addition to the US national team’s January camp, with U.S. Soccer announcing Tuesday that Sean Johnson would replace Bill Hamid.

The Chicago Fire ‘keeper will report to U.S. Soccer’s National Training Center in Carson, Calif., for the camp that started Monday and runs through Feb. 6.

Hamid, D.C. United’s ‘keeper, suffered a knee injury prior to the start of camp, according to U.S. Soccer, and withdrew after being evaluated by the national team’s medical staff.

Johnson has earned five career caps since he made his senior-team debut on Jan. 22, 2011 against Chile. He most recently stopped five shots on goal in 45 minutes of action, completing a 2-0 shutout against Panama at StubHub Center on Feb. 8, 2015.

Last week, USMNT head coach Jurgen Klinsmann added San Jose Earthquakes goalkeeper David Bingham to the existing call-up list. Bingham and Johnson will join reigning MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Luis Robles of the New York Red Bulls as the camp’s three ‘keepers.

The camp culminates with friendlies against Iceland on Jan. 31 and Canada on Feb. 5, both set for StubHub Center in Carson.

Here is the updated roster by position:

GOALKEEPERS (3): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls) 

DEFENDERS (8): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Matt Miazga (New York Red Bulls), Eric Miller (Montreal Impact), Tim Parker (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Brandon Vincent (unattached) 

MIDFIELDERS (8): Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Jermaine Jones (unattached), Perry Kitchen (unattached), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Tony Tchani (Columbus Crew SC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC) 

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Ethan Finlay (Columbus Crew SC), Jerome Kiesewetter (VfB Stuttgart), Jordan Morris (unattached), Khiry Shelton (New York City FC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)