Bruce Arena - close-up
USA Today Sports

Arena names squad tasked with getting USA to the 2018 FIFA World Cup

US men's national team coach Bruce Arena has called up the 26 players who will have the massive task of booking the nation's ticket to the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Only two matches remain in CONCACAF World Cup qualifying for the USA: Oct. 6 vs. Panama (in Orlando) and Oct. 10 in Trinidad & Tobago. The USMNT currently sit in 4th place in the CONCACAF standings, which would guarantee them a playoff against the 5th-place finisher from the Asian qualifying. Only the top three finishers in CONCACAF earn automatic berths to the World Cup.

"It's a roster we've selected that we believe will give us success in these next two games. We have a pretty balanced roster with experienced players," Arena said in a US Soccer statement. "The players always give the commitment, that's never an issue. The issue is whether we get the results we need, and I think we're positioned to do that. I think if it comes down to where we need four or six points in our last two games, I think that's fine and we'll get it done."

Of the 26 players called up, 18 hail from MLS. Six of the eight players based in Europe and Mexico have also played in MLS.

As Arena himself previously hinted, there are few surprises on the roster except for a couple of names who hadn't been summoned to recent camps. Sporting Kansas City's Benny Feilhaber returns to the squad for the first time since February, bringing with him his creative playmaking abilities. He was originally joined by the LA Galaxy's Gyasi Zardes, but he withdrawn from the roster after suffering a groin strain on Saturday night against Real Salt Lake.

U.S. Men’s National Team World Cup Qualifying Roster

Pos Player Club
GK Brad Guzan Atlanta United FC
GK Tim Howard Colorado Rapids
GK Nick Rimando Real Salt LakeRSL
D DaMarcus Beasley Houston Dynamo
D Matt Besler Sporting KC
D Geoff Cameron Stoke City
D Omar Gonzalez Pachuca
D Michael Orozco Club Tijuana
D Tim Ream Fulham
D Jorge Villafaña Santos Laguna
D DeAndre Yedlin Newcastle United
D Graham Zusi Sporting KC
M Kellyn Acosta FC Dallas
M Juan Agudelo New England
M Paul Arriola D.C. United
M Alejandro Bedoya Philadelphia Union
M Michael Bradley Toronto FC
M Benny Feilhaber Sporting KC
M Dax McCarty Chicago Fire
M Darlington Nagbe Portland Timbers
M Christian Pulisic Borussia Dortmund
F Jozy Altidore Toronto FC
F Clint Dempsey Seattle Sounders
F Chris Wondolowski San Jose Earthquakes
F Bobby Wood Hamburg