Dairon Asprilla - Portland Timbers - celebrates goal vs. Seattle
Troy Wayrynen/USA Today Sports

Cascadia Cup: 2017 schedule, standings and all-time winners list

Sunday's 2-2 draw between the Portland Timbers and Seattle Sounders offered up plenty of drama and debate. But one thing it didn't provide was much in the way of clarity in the Cascadia Cup. 

A point apiece at Providence Park keeps the Rose City and Puget Sound deadlocked at 4 points from three Cascadia games and a goal differential of 0. Meanwhile the Vancouver Whitecaps drop into last place in the cup standings at 3 points, simply by virtue of having one fewer game than their two couterparts in the rivalry series.

Cascadia Cup action resumes on July 23, when the Timbers visit the Whitecaps at BC Place (6:30 pm ET | FS1, FOX Deportes in US, TSN in Canada). 

Created by the supporters of the Sounders, Whitecaps and Portland Timbers, the Cascadia Cup has been around since 2004. It was contested by all three teams in USL until 2009, when the Sounders made their MLS debut. The Whitecaps and Timbers continued battling for the Cup in the lower divisions until 2011, when both moved up into MLS, allowing the Sounders to get back in on the competition.

Following last year's crown, Vancouver has won six Cascadia Cups, one more than Seattle and two more than Portland. Both Vancouver and Seattle have won the Cup three times during the trophy’s MLS era, while the Timbers lifted the lone Cascadia Cup of their MLS existence in 2012.

The teams will meet a total of nine times this year, with each club playing the others three times during the MLS regular season.

The full 2017 Cascadia Cup schedule and standings and all-time winners list can be found below:


Seattle Sounders 3 4 1 1 1 4 4 0
Portland Timbers 3 4 1 1 1 4 4 0
Vancouver Whitecaps 2 3 1 1 0 3 3 0


Friday, April 14 – Vancouver 2, Seattle 1
Saturday, April 22 — Portland 2, Vancouver 1
Saturday, May 27 — Seattle 1, Portland 0
Sunday, June 25 — Portland 2, Seattle 2
Sunday, July 23 — Portland at Vancouver (6 pm ET, FS1, TSN)
Wednesday, Aug. 23 — Seattle at Vancouver (10 pm ET, TSN)
Sunday, Aug. 27 — Portland at Seattle (9:30 pm ET, FS1)
Wednesday, Sept. 27 — Vancouver at Seattle (10:30 pm ET, TSN)
Sunday, Oct. 22 — Vancouver at Portland (4 pm ET, TSN)

All-time winners

2016 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2015 – Seattle Sounders
2014 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2012 – Portland Timbers
2011 – Seattle Sounders
2010 – Portland Timbers
2009 – Portland Timbers
2008 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2007 – Seattle Sounders
2006 – Seattle Sounders
2005 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2004 – Vancouver Whitecaps


MLS All-Stars vs. Real Madrid is August 2. Limited tickets left!

Time is running out for your chance to see European champions Real Madrid face the best of MLS. Get your tickets to the 2017 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target.

More about All-Star  |  Event schedule