League releases initial list of 2016 adidas MLS Player Combine invitees

Major League Soccer announced on Friday 59 NCAA Division I college players who have been invited to participate in the 2016 adidas MLS Player Combine. Top collegiate players from across the country will showcase their talents in front of representatives from all 20 MLS clubs in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Jan. 7-12, 2016.

All invited players will be eligible for selection in the 2016 SuperDraft, presented by adidas, which will take place on Thursday, Jan. 14, in Baltimore.

A committee of MLS coaches and NCAA Division I coaches from every conference selected the invitees, all of whom completed their college eligibility this season. Additional invitees, including: Generation adidas signings, non-collegiate players and more college seniors, will be announced in the coming weeks.

Headlining this year’s invitees are six semifinalists for the 2015 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy, awarded to the nation's top player. A pair of Clemson University teammates – Paul Clowes (ACC Midfielder of the Year) and Kyle Fisher (ACC Defender of the Year) – approach the Combine with accolades already in hand and will look to wrap up their collegiate careers with a national championship in this weekend's College Cup.

Still vying for a first title is Stanford’s Brandon Vincent. The defender was dominant in Pac-12 play this season, earning conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and All-Pac-12 First Team honors. Creighton’s Timo Pitter won back-to-back BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year awards in 2014 and 2015 and finished his career ranked among the school’s top 10 in goals (33) and points (87). UNC’s Jonathan Campbell anchored the Tar Heels’ back line this season, starting all 19 games for a defense that yielded the second fewest goals in the ACC. Forward Brandon Allen enters the combine after securing his spot as Georgetown’s all-time leader in goals (50) and earning a unanimous First Team All-BIG EAST selection.

A mix of collegiate soccer head coaches and MLS academy personnel will make up the Combine coaching staff: Columbia University head coach Kevin Anderson, George Mason University head coach Greg Andrulis, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee head coach Kris Kelderman and Akron University head coach Jared Embick will serve as the head coaches for the four combine teams. The assistant coaches will be announced at a later date.

NCAA Division I College Invitees

Name School Pos. Hometown Citizen
Brandon Allen Georgetown F Old Bridge, NJ USA
Emmanuel Appiah Cincinnati M Westerville, OH USA
Duncan Backus UCSB D Higland Village, TX USA
Hadji Barry UCF M Rochester, NY USA
Justin Bilyeu SIU-Edwardsville D St. Louis, MO USA
Colin Bonner UNC Wilmington F Fulton, MD USA
Bradley Bourgeois Tulsa D Cypress, TX USA
Neco Brett Robert Morris F Kingston, Jamaica JAM
Jonathan Campbell North Carolina D Greensboro, NC USA
Zach Carroll Michigan State D Grand Blanc, MI USA
Robert 'T.J.' Casner Clemson F Irvine, CA USA
Dennis Castillo VCU D San Jose, Costa Rica CRC
Paul Clowes Clemson M Cheshire, UK UK
Tyler David Saint Louis M/D Minneapolis, MN USA
Mikhail Doholis Oregon State M Vancouver, WA USA
Liam Doyle Ohio State D Isle of Man, UK UK
Tsubasa Endoh Maryland M Tokyo, Japan JPN
Kyle Fisher Clemson D Easley, SC USA
Michael Gamble Wake Forest F Columbia, MD USA
Wade Hamilton Cal Poly GK Murrieta, CA USA
Josh Heard Washington M Victoria, BC CAN
Ryan Herman Washington GK Fall City, WA USA
Brendan Hines-Ike South Florida D Denver, CO USA
Patrick Hodan Notre Dame M Brookfield, WI USA
Femi Hollinger-Janzen Indiana F Goshen, IN USA
Callum Irving Kentucky GK Vancouver, BC CAN
Ryan James Bowling Green M Mississauga, ON Canada
Vincent Keller Creighton D/M Freiburg, Germany GER
Max Lachowecki Notre Dame D Evansville, IN USA
Sven Lissek Furman GK Sewau, Germany GER
Jamie Luchini Lehigh F Wexford, PA USA
Mitchell Lurie Rutgers D Atlanta, GA USA
Darius Madison UMBC F Philadelphia, PA USA
Ivan Magalhaes Maryland D Sao Paulo, Brazil BRA
Antonio Matarazzo Columbia M Fair Lawn, NJ ITA
Zach Mathers Duke M Keller, TX USA
Jordan McCrary North Carolina D Marietta, GA USA
Chase Minter Cal Poly M Heath, TX USA
Vincent Mitchell Butler M Reckford Clarendon, Jamaica JAM
James Moberg Washington M Windsor, CA USA
James 'C.' Nortey Marquette F Accra, Ghana GHA
Kyle Parker Charlotte F Marvin, NC USA
Timo Pitter Creighton M/F Oberschwarzach, Germany GER
Ben Polk Syracuse F Herkimer, NY USA
Keegan Rosenberry Georgetown D Ronks, PA USA
Michael Salazar UC Riverside F Cayo, Belize USA
Thomas Sanner Princeton F Indianapolis, IN USA
Rodrigo Saravia Florida Gulf Coast M Guatemala City, Guatemala GUA
Jordan Schweitzer Denver M Everett, WA USA
Cole Seiler Georgetown D Anderson, SC USA
Keegan Smith San Diego F Temecula, CA USA
Andrew Souders Akron D Amherst, OH USA
Connor Sparrow Creighton GK St. Louis, MO USA
Mitchell Taintor Rutgers M Storrs, CT USA
Tyler Thompson Stanford M Sacramento, CA USA
Josh Turnley Georgetown D Beaver, PA USA
Eric Verso Stanford M Los Angeles, CA USA
Brandon Vincent Stanford D Valencia, CA USA
Todd Wharton Virginia M Glen Allen, VA USA