Red Bull Arena - updated

LA Galaxy, New York Red Bulls, San Jose Earthquakes to play in International Champions Cup

Three MLS teams will participate in the International Champions Cup this summer, with the LA Galaxy, New York Red Bulls and San Jose Earthquakes set to take on some of the biggest teams in the world in the third annual tournament.

A total of 10 clubs will play in the North American edition of this summer’s competition, which will run from July 11-Aug. 5. Highlighted by defending ICC champions Manchester United and by Barcelona, the participating teams hail from England, France, Italy, Mexico, Portugal, Spain and the US.

The full list of tournament clubs is below:

  • LA Galaxy
  • New York Red Bulls
  • San Jose Earthquakes
  • Barcelona
  • Chelsea
  • Club América
  • Fiorentina
  • Manchester United
  • Paris Saint-Germain
  • Porto

This is the second time the Galaxy will participate in the tournament. LA took part in the first edition of the ICC, finishing in fourth place in the 2013 tournament that also featured Real Madrid, Juventus, Chelsea and Inter Milan, among others.

“The Galaxy are honored to once again be a representative of Major League Soccer against the world’s top teams in the International Champions Cup,” LA Galaxy president Chris Klein said in a statement released by the club. “This is the most storied and successful club in MLS, and competing in this tournament gives our fans an opportunity to see the Galaxy face the most successful clubs from other leagues around the world. We are looking forward to continuing the tradition of bringing global soccer to Southern California this summer.”

This is the first appearance in the tournament for both the Red Bulls and the Earthquakes, the latter of whom opened Avaya Stadium, their brand-new soccer-specific home, earlier this year.

"We are incredibly proud and excited to participate in such a prestigious tournament," San Jose president Dave Kaval said in a club statement. "As one of three Major League Soccer teams invited to take part, we look forward to competing against some of the best teams in the world."

Each participating MLS club will host at least one ICC matchup. Additional information on matchups, venues and dates will be announced on April 28. 

The tournament will be seen in over 160 countries across the world, with every match broadcast live on FOX, FOX Sports 1 or FOX Sorts 2.

In addition to the North American leg of the tournament, the 2015 International Champions Cup will also include separate events in Australia and China. Clubs participating in Australia include Real Madrid, Manchester City and Roma.