10 MLS alums among newcomers to 2020 National Soccer Hall of Fame ballot

Mike Magee - LA Galaxy - close up

Ballots for election to the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2020 via the in the player category have been finalized, with 14 retired players meeting the eligibility criteria for the first time, including 10 who plied their trade in MLS for portions of their careers.

Among those 10 are US men's national team World Cup alums Brad Davis (2014), Herculez Gomez (2010) and Clarence Goodson (2010), former Landon Donovan MLS MVPs Mike Magee and Carlos Ruiz, and former MLS Best XI selections Nat Borchers (2010), Conor Casey (2009), Justin Mapp (2006), Jamison Olave (2010, 2011) and Robbie Rogers (2008).

Ballots for the veteran and builder categories will be revealed at a later date, with voting for all three to commence on Wednesday, March 18. 

Eligible players must be retired for at least three full calendar years, but for no more than 10 full calendar years, and have either played in at least 20 full international games for the U.S. after 1990 or played at least five seasons in an American first-division pro league and named to a postseason league All-Star team at least once. 

The voting pool includes all past and present full Men's and Women's National Team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS and NWSL Commissioners/Executive Director, U.S. Soccer CEO/Secretary General, U.S. Soccer President, designated media members and all Hall of Famers. 

Each voter can select up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least two thirds of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the Veteran ballot. 

Of the 42 individuals on the Player ballot, Chris Klein, Eddie Lewis, Kate Sobrero Markgraf, Clint Mathis, Jaime Moreno and Steve Ralston are in their final year of eligibility.

10 MLS alums among newcomers to 2020 National Soccer Hall of Fame ballot - https://league-mp7static.mlsdigital.net/images/Cono%20Casey%20Brad%20Davis.jpg?h1z71aDK9.yge88AQeAfPFWNPAHBJ2dI

Conor Casey, left, playing against Brad Davis in MLS action from 2014 | USA Today Sports Images

2020 National Soccer Hall of Fame Ballot

First year of eligibility
Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2021

  • David Beckham
  • Gregg Berhalter
  • Carlos Bocanegra
  • Nat Borchers
  • Shannon Boxx
  • Jen Buczkowski
  • Conor Casey
  • Lori Chalupney
  • Lauren Cheney Holiday
  • Steve Cherundolo
  • Brian Ching
  • Kenny Cooper
  • Jeff Cunningham
  • Brad Davis
  • Whitney Engen
  • Herculez Gomez
  • Clarence Goodson
  • Kevin Hartman
  • Frankie Hejduk
  • Thierry Henry
  • Stuart Holden
  • Eddie Johnson
  • Chris Klein
  • Amy LePeilbet
  • Eddie Lewis
  • Lori Lindsey
  • Mike Magee
  • Justin Mapp
  • Kate Sobrero Markgraf
  • Pablo Mastroeni
  • Clint Mathis
  • Heather Mitts
  • Jaime Moreno
  • Jamison Olave
  • Steve Ralston
  • Cat Reddick Whitehill
  • Robbie Rogers
  • Carlos Ruiz
  • Hope Solo
  • Kelly Smith*
  • Aly Wagner
  • Josh Wolff