World Cup: USMNT's Tim Howard left off nominees for FIFA Golden Glove award

Tim Howard’s record-setting performance in the United States’ loss to Belgium in the World Cup Round of 16 was good, but evidently not good enough to make him a finalist for the award given to the top goalkeeper in Brazil.

Howard was excluded from FIFA’s list of nominees for the Golden Glove award released on Friday, which instead included Costa Rica’s Keylor Navas and the two netminders who will compete in the World Cup final on Sunday in Rio de Janeiro: Germany’s Manuel Neuer and Argentina’s Sergio Romero.

Howard made 16 saves in the US’ 2-1 loss to Belgium in Salvador on July 1, the most by any goalkeeper in the World Cup since record keepers began tracking goalkeeper saves in 1966. Howard made 28 saves and allowed six goals across four games in the tournament.

FIFA also released the nominees for it’s other awards: the Golden Ball for the tournament’s top overall player and the Young Player award, given to the best player born on or after Jan. 1, 1993.

The only US player to win an individual award at the World Cup is Landon Donovan, who won the Young Player award in 2002, the same year Claudio Reyna was named to the all-tournament team.

2014 FIFA Golden Ball Nominees

Angel Di Maria (M, Argentina)

Mats Hummels (D, Germany)

Toni Kroos (M, Germany)

Philipp Lahm (D, Germany)

Javier Mascherano (M, Argentina)

Lionel Messi (M, Argentina)

Thomas Mueller (F, Germany)

Neymar (F, Brazil)

Arjen Robben (F, Netherlands)

James Rodriguez (F. Colomnbia)

2014 FIFA Young Player Nominees

Memphis Depay (M, Netherlands)

Paul Pogba (M, France)

Raphael Varane (D, France)

Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android