Jurgen Klinsmann smiles
USA Today sports

USMNT just four wins away from setting new world record for longest winning streak by a national team

The US national team is on the cusp of history.

By keeping its winning streak alive in Bosnia-Herzegovina on Wednesday night, Jurgen Klinsmann's squad still has a chance at the all-time record for consecutive wins by a national team. Ever.

Spain hold the mark at 15 and it was the USMNT that ended that historic run by downing Spain 2-0 in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup semifinals.

Widely considered one of the best teams that has ever played, Spain kicked off that streak at Euro 2008 with a 3-0 semifinal win over Russia before consecutively defeating 14 other opponents: Germany, Denmark, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Armenia, Estonia, Belgium, Chile, England, Turkey (twice), Azerbaijan, New Zealand, Iraq and South Africa.

The US streak is contained to 2013, specifically dating back to June 2 and the 4-3 win against Germany. In just over two months, the Americans have since knocked off: Jamaica, Panama, Honduras, Guatemala, Belize, Cuba, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Panama and Bosnia-Herzegovina on Wednesday in Sarajevo.

The USMNT can set the new world record by making a clean sweep of the four remaining CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers on the schedule for this year: at Costa Rica (Sept. 6), vs. Mexico (Sept. 10), vs. Jamaica (Oct. 11) and at Panama (Oct. 15).

Can they set the record in Panama in October? Give us your prediction in the comments below.


15: Spain (2008-2009)
14: Australia (1996-1997)
14: Brazil (1997)
14: France (2003-2004)
13: Scotland (1879-1885)
13: Brazil (1960-1962)
12: USA (2013-current)
12: East Germany (1973-1974)
12: West Germany (1979-1980)
12: France (1984-1985)
12: Mexico (1987-1990)