Will Johnson with the Canadian national team
Courtesy of CSA

Gold Cup: Dwayne De Rosario, Will Johnson headline strong Canada 35-man preliminary roster

CONCACAF has revealed the 35-man preliminary rosters for all 12 teams participating in this summer's 2013 Gold Cup, and Canada look to be going with a full-strength squad, with few surprises in the roster.

Though a coach for the tournament is yet to be specified, with Colin Miller again serving as an interim coach in their recent 1-0 friendly loss to Costa Rica, what is likely is that the team will count on its European-based players to guide them to a strong showing in the tournament.

Among domestic-based players, Toronto FC will lead the way in representation, with four players on the roster, while the Vancouver Whitecaps have two. The Montreal Impact will not be represented in Canada's Gold Cup squad. D.C. United will send three players to Canada's squad, including veterans Dwayne De Rosario and Dejan Jakovic, as well as promising forward Kyle Porter.

READ: Despite winless 2013, Canada insist no reason to worry as Gold Cup nears

Teams are required to submit their final, 23-man roster for the tournament on June 27, which will kick off on July 7 when Canada face Martinique at the Rose Bowl. Teams will have the opportunity to swap in up to four players from their 35-man roster at the conclusion of the tournament's group stage

Preliminary Canada roster for 2013 Gold Cup:

Goalkeepers (5): Haidar Al-Shaibani (Nîmes Olympique/France), Milan Borjan (Sivasspor/Turkey), Tomer Chencinski (Maccabi Tel Aviv/Israel), Lars Hirschfeld (Vålarenga/Norway), Simon Thomas (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Defenders (9): Nana Attakora (San Jose Earthquakes), Marcel de Jong (Augsburg/Germany), David Edgar (Burnley/England), Andre Hainault (Ross County/Scotland), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Dejan Jakovic (D.C. United), Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby/Sweden), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Adam Straith (FC Saarbrücken/Germany)

Midfielders (13): Fraser Aird (Rangers/Scotland), Kevin Aleman (Real Valladolid/Spain), Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Stefan Cebara (Celje/Slovenia), Julian de Guzman (Jahn Regensburg/Germany), Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United), Atiba Hutchinson (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Issey Nakajima-Farran (Alki/Cyprus), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Pedro Pacheco (Santa Clara/Portugal), Samuel Piette (Fortuna Düsseldorf/Germany), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Forwards (8): Lucas Cavallini (Juventud Las Piedras/Uruguay), Randy Edwini-Bonsu (Eintracht Braunschweig/Germany), Daniel Haber (Maccabi Haifa/Israel), Marcus Haber (Stevenage/England), Simeon Jackson (Norwich City/England), Frank Jonke (FF Jaro/Finland), Kyle Porter (D.C. United), Tosaint Ricketts (Sandnes Ulf/Norway)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.