Darlington Nagbe and Akron ground out a 2-1 win over Western Michigan on Saturday.
Ernie Aranyosi

Akron's Nagbe wins Hermann Trophy

The University of Akron’s Darlington Nagbe was recognized as the top player in the NCAA Division 1 on Friday, receiving the coveted Hermann Trophy award.

The Zips product topped fellow junior forwards Will Bruin from Indiana University and the University of Louisville’s Colin Rolfe to take home the prize.

Nagbe, who also can play in the midfield, helped Akron capture their first-ever NCAA title in 2010, topping Louisville in the College Cup Final. He scored seven goals and tallied 13 assists in 25 starts all season.

He becomes the second consecutive Akron player to win the award after current Sporting Kansas City and US national team striker Teal Bunbury received it last year.

The Hermann Trophy is handed out by the Missouri Athletic Club to the nation’s top male and female players in NCAA D-1 soccer. The winners are decided by votes from the coaches whose programs are members of the NSCAA.

MLS All-Stars vs. Real Madrid is August 2. Limited tickets left!

Time is running out for your chance to see European champions Real Madrid face the best of MLS. Get your tickets to the 2017 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target.

More about All-Star  |  Event schedule