Gomez named Player of the Week

Los Angeles Galaxy forward Herculez Gomez today was selected as the Honda MLS Player of the Week for Week 27 which ended on Sunday, Oct. 2. The 23-year old scored twice on Saturday to lead the Galaxy to a 2-1 victory over FC Dallas at The Home Depot Center. Gomez, who has scored all 11 of his goals in the last 15 regular season games since July 9, earns his first ever Player of the Week honor.

In the 12th minute on Saturday, Gomez combined with Ned Grabavoy for his first goal of the night. Grabavoy played a long through ball to Gomez at the top right of the box. Gomez was able to hold off FC Dallas defender Clarence Goodson and banged a shot off the inside of the far post for the 1-0 lead.

FC Dallas tied the game at one only minutes before the halftime break, but Gomez would respond in first half injury time to give the Galaxy the lead back. Gomez intercepted a David Wagenfuhr pass at midfield and then outran his mark on his way to goal. On a dead sprint into the box, Gomez saw Dallas goalkeeper Scott Garlick charge off his line to try and cut down the angle, and calmly chipped the ball over his head and into the net.

D.C. United's Ben Olsen was a close second in the voting for the weekly award. The Honda Major League Soccer Player of the Week is selected every week throughout the MLS regular season by a panel of journalists from the Professional Soccer Reporters Association (PSRA).


Week 1: Edson Buddle (Columbus Crew)
Week 2: Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 3: Jon Busch (Columbus Crew)
Week 4: Clint Dempsey (New England Revolution)
Week 5: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
Week 6: Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Week 7: Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 8: Ronnie O'Brien (FC Dallas)
Week 9: Carlos Ruiz (FC Dallas)
Week 10: Nate Jaqua (Chicago Fire)
Week 11: Zach Wells (MetroStars)
Week 12: Jeff Cunningham (Colorado Rapids)
Week 13: Pat Noonan (New England Revolution)
Week 14: Joe Cannon (Colorado Rapids)
Week 15: Matt Taylor (Chivas USA)
Week 16: Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
Week 17: Mark Chung (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 18: no winner (All-Star break)
Week 19: Youri Djorkaeff (MetroStars)
Week 20: Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 21: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
Week 22: Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
Week 23: Justin Mapp (Chicago Fire)
Week 24: Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
Week 25: Youri Djorkaeff (MetroStars)
Week 26: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 27: Herculez Gomez (Los Angeles Galaxy)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.