Kyle Martino and the Crew face a tough test on Wednesday in FC Dallas.
Allen Kee/MLS/

Crew host FCD in fourth round action

Jesse Owens Stadium, Columbus, Ohio; 7:30 p.m. ET

Two teams whose only honor in club history has been a victory in the U.S. Open Cup meet in the fourth round on Wednesday. Columbus Crew, the 2002 winner, are making their bow in the competition this year, while FC Dallas got their run off to a good start in an extra-time victory against USL Second Division Wilmington in the third round a few weeks ago.

IN THE OPEN CUP: The only honor in Crew history came in the U.S. Open Cup, a 1-0 victory in the 2002 final at Crew Stadium against the Los Angeles Galaxy. After knocking off an A-League team in the Richmond Kickers in the third round, they had to overcome three consecutive MLS opponents to lift the Dewar Trophy. ... The Crew have reached the U.S. Open Cup Final on one other occasion - in 1998, the first year they played in the competition, falling in extra time to the Chicago Fire. ... Only once have the Crew been dumped out at the first hurdle, in 2003, when they lost 4-3 at home to the MetroStars in a fractious affair. ... They've lost to lower-division opposition just once as well, eliminated in the semifinals in 1999 by the Rochester Raging Rhinos of the then-A-League. ... These clubs have never met in U.S. Open Cup play.

LAST YEAR: The Crew reached the quarterfinals of the Open Cup a year ago, before falling once again to the Chicago Fire. They defeated the Syracuse Salty Dogs of the A-League 2-1 at Crew Stadium in the fourth round, before the Fire dumped them out of the competition for the second time in club history, a 2-1 loss in extra time in the quarterfinals at Crew Stadium.

The only honor in Dallas club history came in 1997, when they claimed the U.S. Open Cup title, defeating D.C. United on penalty kicks after a scoreless draw in Indianapolis. On their way to the title that year, the then-Burn defeated the New Orleans Riverboat Gamblers (A), Chicago Stingers (D3) and MetroStars to reach the final. They've reached the semifinals three times - losing in 1996 to D.C. United, in 1998 to Chicago Fire and in 2002 to Los Angeles Galaxy. Twice they've been dumped out at the first hurdle by lower-level competition - in 2001 by the PDL Seattle Sounders Select and in 2003 by the Hammerheads. ... These clubs have never met in U.S. Open Cup play.

A year ago Dallas reached the quarterfinals of the competition. In the third round the Burn eased to a 2-0 victory against the A-League Virginia Beach Mariners getting goals from Toni Nhleko (20) and Ronnie O'Brien (23). They knocked off the Colorado Rapids 3-0 in the fourth round as Ronnie O'Brien (60) scored once and Eddie Johnson (67, 75) scored twice. But they were hammered by Kansas City Wizards 4-0 in the quarters.

FC Dallas survived more giant-killing exploits from the USL Second Division Wilmington Hammerheads (third tier), getting two goals in extra time for a 3-1 victory in their third-round tie in the U.S. Open Cup on July 12 at University of Texas-Dallas. Two years ago, the Hammerheads defeated Dallas 4-1 in a fourth-round match in Wilmington, and after Derek Popovich shot them into an 18th-minute lead a repeat was in view. But Abe Thompson equalized on the half-hour, then Carey Talley headed home a Roberto Mina cross (98), before Mina finished off the match with a tremendous long-range effort (112) to send the Hoops through. ... Here's Colin Clarke's team: (4-4-2) - Jeff Cassar, Philip Salyer (Bobby Rhine 94), Drew Moor, Alex Yi, David Wagenfuhr, Carey Talley, Aaron Pitchkolan (Roberto Mina 64), Oscar Pareja (Ronnie O'Brien 64), Ty Maurin (Arturo Alvarez 78), Ramon Nunez, Abe Thompson.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Soccer or its clubs.