Toronto FC's Sebastian Giovinco wins 2015 Audi Golden Boot

Toronto FC's Sebastian Giovinco wins 2015 Audi Golden Boot  -

In the first of what is expected to be quite a haul of end-of-season awards, Toronto FC’s Sebastian Giovinco has claimed the Audi Golden Boot.

Following TFC’s season finale Sunday against the Montreal Impact, Giovinco finished the season with 22 goals. The Dynamic Italian came into #DecisionDay having all but sealed up top goal-scoring honors after he tied Columbus Crew SC’s Kei Kamara at 22 goals, with his 16 assists serving as the tiebreaker. Robbie Keane (20 goals; 19 heading into Sunday's play) had an outside shot, but would've needed to score four goals more than Giovinco to surpass him. He struck only once.

Kamara, suspended for Crew SC’s finale against D.C. United due to yellow card accumulation, finished with 22 goals, followed by Keane (20), New York City FC’s David Villa (18) and Orlando City SC rookie Cyle Larin (17).

Giovinco becomes the first TFC player to lead the league in goals, having already broken the franchise record of 15 (Dwayne De Rosario, 2010).
It’s a stellar end to Giovinco’s first regular season in MLS, having joined TFC in a highly publicized move from Serie A giant Juventus this offseason. His combined 22 goals and 16 assists is the most of any player in league history, breaking the previous record set by Chris Wondolowski in 2012, when the Earthquakes striker tallied 27 goals and 7 assists.
Top Goal Scorers in Each Season:

2015:    22 goals – Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)
2014:    27 goals – Bradley Wright-Phillips (New York Red Bulls)
2013:    22 goals – Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
2012:    27 goals – Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
2011:    16 goals – Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)
2010:    18 goals – Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
2009:    17 goals – Jeff Cunningham (FC Dallas)
2008:    20 goals – Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy)
2007:    20 goals – Luciano Emilio (D.C. United)
2006:    16 goals – Jeff Cunningham (Real Salt Lake)
2005:    17 goals – Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
2004:    12 goals – Eddie Johnson (Dallas Burn); Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
2003:    15 goals – Carlos Ruiz (LA Galaxy); Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
2002:    24 goals – Carlos Ruiz (LA Galaxy)
2001:    19 goals – Alex Pineda Chacon (Miami Fusion)
2000:    26 goals – Mamadou Diallo (Tampa Bay Mutiny)
1999:    18 goals – Stern John (Columbus Crew); Roy Lassiter (D.C. United); Jason Kreis (Dallas Burn)
1998:    26 goals – Stern John (Columbus Crew)
1997:    16 goals – Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
1996:    27 goals – Roy Lassiter (Tampa Bay Mutiny)