Carlos Valdes
Getty Images

Philadelphia defense dominates All-Star Twitter ballot

We gave you a write-in vote, and you responded.

From July 17 to 20, fans used Twitter as a write-in ballot for the MLS All-Star Game. All players were eligible, and four of the top five vote-getters on Twitter are Philadelphia Union players — three defenders who did not make the media-selected online and text ballot, plus goalkeeper Faryd Mondragón (see final Twitter vote ranking below). Among goalkeepers who have played at least 10 games, Mondragón’s 0.86 goals against average is third in MLS behind LA’s Donovan Ricketts and Real Salt Lake’s Nick Rimando.

Through two weeks of online and text voting for the First XI, Landon Donovan, David Beckham, Rafa Márquez and Kasey Keller all continue to lead at their respective positions having received the most combined votes. Online and text voting concludes July 5 at 11:59 p.m. ET. CLICK HERE TO VOTE ONLINE.

LEADERS IN FAN VOTING (as of June 20, 2011)

Top 10 on Twitter (June 17-20):
1 Carlos Valdés (PHI)
2 Sheanon Williams (PHI)
3 Charlie Davies (DC)
4 Jordan Harvey (PHI)
5 Faryd Mondragón (PHI)
6 Kasey Keller (SEA)
7 Thierry Henry (NY)
8 Nick Rimando (RSL)
9 Jack Jewsbury (POR)
10 Chris Pontius (DC)

Online voting: Top 5 goalkeepers (overall)
1 Kasey Keller (SEA)
2 Donovan Ricketts (LA)
3 Nick Rimando (RSL)
4 Faryd Mondragón (PHI)
5 Kevin Hartman (FCD)

Online voting: Top 7 defenders (overall)
1 Rafa Márquez (NY)
2 Tim Ream (NY)
3 Omar Gonzalez (LA)
4 Jay DeMerit (VAN)
5 Danny Califf (PHI)
6 Sean Franklin (LA)
7 Mamadou Danso (POR)

Online voting: Top 7 midfielders (overall)
1 David Beckham (LA)
2 Dwayne De Rosario (NY)
3 Joel Lindpere (NY)
4 Brek Shea (DAL)
5 Kyle Beckerman (RSL)
6 Jack Jewsbury (POR)
7 Juninho (LA)

Online voting: Top 5 forwards (overall)
1 Landon Donovan (LA)
2 Thierry Henry (NY)
3 Charlie Davies (DC)
4 Chris Wondolowski (SJ)
5 Luke Rodgers (NY)

Text votes: Top 10 overall
1 Justin Mapp (PHI)
2 Dominic Oduro (CHI)
3 Sean Franklin (LA)
4 Omar Gonzalez (LA)
5 Brek Shea (DAL)
6 Matt Besler (SKC)
7 Chris Pontius (DC)
8 David Beckham (LA)
9 Benny Feilhaber (NE)
10 Geoff Cameron (HOU)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.