Awards - 2019 - Newcomer of the Year

New England Revolution's Carles Gil wins MLS Newcomer of the Year

Carles Gil was named the 2019 MLS Newcomer of the Year on Wednesday, capping an impressive debut campaign for the New England Revolution’s Spanish midfielder.

Joining New England from Spanish side Deportivo de La Coruña as a Designated Player last winter, Gil found his feet immediately, earning the Revs’ captaincy and tabbing 10 goals and 14 assists in league play. His cultured passing and vision was pivotal as the club rallied from a woeful start to the year to earn a spot in the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs, their first postseason appearance since 2015.

The former Aston Villa and Valencia playmaker started in all 34 of New England’s MLS matches, missing just eight minutes of regular-season action. Gil finished first among all MLS newcomers – and tied for fifth overall – in both the assists and combined goals and assists (24) categories. He was one of only four MLS players to reach double digits in goals and assists this year.

Gil edged New York City FC’s Heber and fellow Spaniard Alejandro Pozuelo (Toronto FC) in the final Newcomer of the Year voting tally, which is voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Some 200 newcomers to MLS, hailing from 48 countries and averaging 23.56 years of age, were eligible for the honor.

The Newcomer of the Year Award recognizes players with previous professional experience but who are in their first year playing in MLS, which makes rookies ineligible for consideration. Similarly, players eligible for Newcomer of the Year are ineligible for Rookie of the Year.

Gil’s next challenge: A daunting visit to defending MLS Cup champions Atlanta United at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Round One of the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs on Saturday (1 pm ET | Univision, TUDN in US; TVAS, TSN4 in Canada). Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Voting Results

Nominee Player
Carles Gil (NE) 12.16% 21.43% 25.10% 19.56%
Heber (NYC) 8.78% 15.31% 28.57% 17.55%
Alejandro Pozuelo (TOR) 18.58% 5.10% 12.36% 12.01%
Alexandru Mitrita (NYC) 11.15% 15.31% 1.54% 9.33%
Gustavo Bou (NE) 6.76% 9.18% 4.63% 6.86%

MLS Newcomer of the Year Winners

  • 2019: Carles Gil – New England Revolution
  • 2018: Zlatan Ibrahimovic – LA Galaxy
  • 2017: Miguel Almiron – Atlanta United
  • 2016: Nicolas Lodeiro – Seattle Sounders FC
  • 2015: Sebastian Giovinco – Toronto FC
  • 2014: Pedro Morales – Vancouver Whitecaps FC
  • 2013: Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers
  • 2012: Federico Higuaín – Columbus Crew SC
  • 2011: Mauro Rosales – Seattle Sounders FC
  • 2010: Álvaro Saborío – Real Salt Lake
  • 2009: Fredy Montero – Seattle Sounders FC
  • 2008: Darren Huckerby – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2007: Luciano Emílio – D.C. United

Childhood cancer doesn’t stop for COVID-19

Share your message of hope to inspire their fight as part of childhood cancer awareness month. Learn how you can support