2018 Awards - Coach of the Year - Gerardo Tata Martino

Atlanta United's Gerardo “Tata” Martino named 2018 MLS Coach of the Year

Atlanta United’s Gerardo “Tata” Martino has been named the 2018 MLS Coach of the Year, the league announced Tuesday morning.

Utilizing a coaching philosophy that featured complementary star players alongside developing young talent, Martino helped guide the Five Stripes to a record-setting regular season and a berth in the Eastern Conference Championship against the New York Red Bulls.

Atlanta surpassed the previous post-shootout single-season wins record (20) with 21 regular-season victories. They had the league’s best regular season road record (10-5-2) and tied the previous all-time points record (69) in the process. Atlanta outscored every MLS club this year, netting consecutive 70-goal seasons for the first time in MLS history.

This season, Atlanta’s two MLS Best XI player honorees were also two of the top five Landon Donovan Most Valuable Player finalists in 24-year-old Miguel Almiron, and 25-year-old Josef Martinez. Martinez, the 2018 Golden Boot winner, set a new single-season scoring record with 31 goals.

Martino, who became Atlanta’s first coach on Sept. 27, 2016, has led the Five Stripes to consecutive postseason appearances with a fast-paced offense that ranked top-two in goal differential over his two years at the helm. By securing the most aggregate points totals from their 2017 and 2018 campaigns, Atlanta earned a berth to the 2019 Concacaf Champions League (CCL).

Prior to joining Atlanta, Martino coached the national teams of Argentina and Paraguay, as well as Barcelona and Newell’s Old Boys, who he guided to the Torneo Final victory in 2013, the same year he won Copa Libertadores.

Martino received 32.72 percent of the average vote, compiled from three groups: active players, media and club technical staff. LAFC's Bob Bradley finished second with 22.34 percent of the vote, while Peter Vermes of Sporting Kansas City was third with 10.95. 

Voting Results

Nominee Player
Gerardo "Tata" Martino (ATL) 46.92% 29.91% 21.32% 32.72%
Bob Bradley (LAFC) 20.53% 14.95% 31.53% 22.34%
Peter Vermes (SKC) 6.16% 15.89% 10.81% 10.95%
Jim Curtin (PHI) 3.81% 13.08% 7.51% 8.13%
Chris Armas (RBNY) 5.87% 3.74% 13.81% 7.81%

MLS Coach of the Year Winners

  • 2018: Gerardo "Tata" Martino – Atlanta United
  • 2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
  • 2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
  • 2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
  • 2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
  • 2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
  • 2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
  • 2009: Bruce Arena – Los Angeles Galaxy
  • 2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew
  • 2007: Preki – Chivas USA
  • 2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
  • 2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew
  • 2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
  • 2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
  • 2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
  • 1999: Sigi Schmid – Los Angeles Galaxy
  • 1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
  • 1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
  • 1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny

LIVE YOUR COLORS: Download the free MLS app - The official MLS app gets a major update for 2020, making it easier than ever to keep up with your favorite club, check standings, watch videos and much more.