Minnesota United's Matt Lampson Named MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year

Minnesota United goalkeeper Matt Lampson was announced on Thursday as the 2018 MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, presented by AdvoCare.

A seven-year MLS veteran, Lampson started the LampStrong Foundation in 2013 to raise awareness for Hodgkin’s Lymphoma after being diagnosed with it himself at 17 years old. The Ohio native beat the disease and signed his first pro contract with Columbus Crew SC in 2012.

The LampStrong Foundation is dedicated to providing difference-making financial, emotional and motivational support to cancer patients and families in all the stages of cancer treatment and recovery and to fund proven cancer researchers.

During his time in Columbus, Lampson also launched the Hero program while working as spokesperson the for the Central Ohio Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) Chapter. He has hosted a child battling cancer along with his or her family at each of his MLS matches for the past six years.

Since arriving in Minnesota this past offseason via a trade from the Chicago Fire, Lampson has been scheduling regular hospital visits to see the children at University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital.

This is Lampson's second time being recognized as the league's Humanitarian of the Year. For his efforts, MLS WORKS will donate $5,000 to the LampStrong Foundation.

MLS teams had an opportunity to nominate candidates for the Humanitarian of the Year award, which was voted on by club officials, media and MLS players. See the full results and past winners of the award below.

Voting Results

Nominee Player
Matt Lampson (MIN) 16.16% 6.32% 11.76% 11.41%
Wil Trapp (CLB) 11.89% 13.68% 5.56% 10.38%
Luis Robles (RBNY) 7.01% 12.63% 10.46% 10.03%
Zarek Valentin (POR) 5.79% 7.37% 12.09% 8.42%
Brad Guzan (ATL) 7.01% 7.37% 12.09% 8.42%

MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year Winners

  • 2018: Matt Lampson – Minnesota United
  • 2017: Ryan Hollingshead – FC Dallas
  • 2016: Matt Lampson – Chicago Fire
  • 2015: Kei Kamara – Columbus Crew SC
  • 2014: AJ DeLaGarza – LA Galaxy
  • 2013: Matt Reis – New England Revolution
  • 2012: Chris Seitz – FC Dallas
  • 2011: Zak Boggs – New England Revolution
  • 2010: Seth Stammler – New York Red Bulls
  • 2009: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards); Logan Pause (Chicago Fire
  • 2008: Jose Burciaga Jr. – Colorado Rapids
  • 2007: Diego Gutierrez – Chicago Fire
  • 2006: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
  • 2005: Brian Kamler – Real Salt Lake
  • 2004: Chris Henderson – Colorado Rapids
  • 2003: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
  • 2002: Steve Jolley – MetroStars
  • 2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
  • 2000: Abdul Thompson Conteh – San Jose Earthquakes