2012 Xbox Fair Play Award - Logan Pause
Gabriel de los Rios / MLSsoccer.com

Fire's Pause, New England claim Xbox Fair Play awards

It's virtually unheard of in soccer: a starting holding midfielder with just 11 fouls and not a single caution card in 32 matches.

With that kind of stat line, it should come as no surprise that Chicago Fire captain Logan Pause was unveiled by MLS on Monday as the winner of the 2012 Xbox Individual Fair Play Award. The honor is based on a combination of statistics as well as "an evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior," according to league's announcements.

The 31-year-old is in his 10th season with Chicago and in his 31 starts he scored more goals (1) than yellow and red cards combined (0) in the 2,424 minutes he logged this season.

The Xbox Team Fair Play Award went to the New England Revolution, who in their first season with manager Jay Heaps at the helm, committed the second-fewest fouls in MLS during the 2012 season (360). They also had the third-fewest yellow cards (40) and just two red cards all season.

Even more remarkable is that not a single Revs player served a caution-accumulation suspension all season.

As with the individual award, sportsmanlike behavior is also taken into account in the team version of the Fair Play award.

The Revs also won the award in 2003 and 2008.

Xbox Fair Play Award - Individual Winners:
2012:  Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2011:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2010:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009:  Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006:  Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake
2005:  Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes
2004:  Eddie Pope – Metro Stars
2003:  Brian McBride – Columbus Crew
2002:  Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids
2001:  Alex Pineda Chacón – Miami Fusion
2000:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998:  Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew
1997:  Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards
Xbox Fair Play Award -Team Winners:
2012:  New England Revolution
2011:  Portland Timbers
2010:  San Jose Earthquakes
2009:  Chicago Fire
2008:  New England Revolution
2007:  Columbus Crew
2006:  Kansas City Wizards
2005:  Kansas City Wizards
2004:  Columbus Crew
2003:  New England Revolution
2002:  Kansas City Wizards
2001:  San Jose Earthquakes
2000:  Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Columbus Crew
1998:  Kansas City Wizards
1997:  Columbus Crew