United States U-20 national team captures first-ever CONCACAF title

Brooks Lennon - In action during CONCACAF U-20 Championship vs. Honduras

It didn't come easy, but the United States Under-20 national team prevailed in a penalty shootout after a 0-0 tie with Honduras to capture the country's first ever CONACAF Championship at the U-20 level.

The US had to suffer through a trying 90 minutes that saw Justen Glad and Eryk Williamson substituted through injury and Erik Palmer-Brown also forced off with a knock after US coach Tab Ramos had used all three of his subs.

Both teams had their chances, with the US generating most of their shots in the first half. But neither team could find a breakthrough in 90 minutes of regulation, and the match went straight to penalties.

Each team made their first three penalties in the shootout, but after Luca De La Torre converted the USA's fourth attempt, Honduras' Rembrandt Flores missed high. That set up Danny Acosta for the winning penalty attempt, and the Real Salt Lake man made no mistake, sparking frenzied celebrations from the US bench.

The US will now look forward to the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup, set to take place in South Korea in May. The draw for that tournament will take place on March 15.

US Under-20s lineup (4-5-1):  Jonathan Klinsmann; Marlon Fossey, Tommy Redding, Justen Glad (Auston Trusty 48'), Danny Acosta; Brooks Lennon, Erik Palmer-Brown, Tyler Adams, Eryk Williamson (Emmanuel Sabbi 26'), Luca de la Torre; Jeremy Ebobisse (Coy Craft 79')

Honduras Under-20s lineup (4-3-3): Javier Delgado; Dylan Andrade, Jose Garcia, Denil Maldonado, Wesly Decas; Byron Rodriguez (Rembrandt Flores 72'), Carlos Pineda, Jorge Alvarez; Foslyn Grant, Douglas Martinez, Darixon Vuelto Perez