UEFA Euro 2020 Playoffs: Draw determines pairings for final four berths

UEFA Euro 2020 logo

Several MLS players learned their path to a potential prestigious berth in the UEFA Euro 2020 tournament next summer after the playoff draw was conducted. 

Only four nations will qualify via the playoffs and those four will have to win two single-elimination matches on March 26 and March 31 next year: a playoff semifinal and a playoff final (see pairings below). The playoff final hosts were determined by a draw.

The remaining 16 nations battling for the final four playoff berths were among the top performers from the qualifying stage that failed to qualify directly and several of them finished in third or fourth place in their respective qualifying group. The top two teams earned automatic berths.

Here are the MLS players in the running for a call-up to these Euro playoff matches next March: 

The 24-team UEFA Euro 2020 tournament will be played in 12 cities across 12 European nations next summer. The final tournament draw will be held November 30 before the playoff berths are determined.

Among the other MLS players who have already helped their nations qualify for Euro 2020: Zdenek Ondrasek (Czech Republic / FC Dallas), Robin Lod (Finland / Minnesota United), Przemyslaw Frankowski (Poland / Chicago Fire), Lassi Lappalainen (Finland / Montreal Impact), Jukka Raitala (Finland / Montreal Impact).

Playoff Pathway A

Semifinals (March 26): Bulgaria vs. Hungary, Iceland vs. Romania

Final (March 31): Bulgaria/Hungary vs. Iceland/Romania (Bulgaria or Hungary host)

Playoff Pathway B

Semifinals (March 26): Bosnia and Herzegovina vs. Northern Ireland, Slovakia vs. Republic of Ireland

Final (March 31): Bosnia and Herzegovina/Northern Ireland vs. Slovakia/Republic of Ireland (Bosnia or N. Ireland host)

Playoff Pathway C

Semifinals (March 26): Norway vs. Serbia, Scotland vs. Israel

Final (March 31): Norway/Serbia vs. Scotland/Israel (Norway or Israel host)

Playoff Pathway D

Semifinals (March 26): Georgia vs. Belarus, North Macedonia vs. Kosovo

Final (March 31): Georgia/Belarus vs. North Macedonia/Kosovo (Georgia or Belarus host)

Euro 2020 Finalists (24 nations)

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Wales
  • Playoff Pathway A
  • Playoff Pathway B
  • Playoff Pathway C
  • Playoff Pathway D