Marco Pappa celebrates a goal vs. Colorado Rapids (May 27, 2015)

The New York Red Bulls' offseason process began on Wednesday, when the club announced they have declined to exercisecontract options for nine players.

Of those nine, Red Bulls sporting director Ali Curtis said the club is in discussions with goalkeeper Kyle Reynish, defender Damien Perrinelle and winger Shaun Wright-Phillips to re-sign those players for 2016. Perrinelle was a vital piece of New York's defense, and his inury in the Eastern Conference Semifinal against D.C. United was a blow to the Red Bulls' organization heading into their subsequent loss to Columbus Crew SC in the Eastern Conference Championship.

The other players whose contract options were not picked up are defenders Roy Miller and Anthony Wallace, midfielders Marius Obekop and Leo Stolz and wingers Dane Richards and Manolo Sanchez. Miller recently completed his sixth season with the club, but lost his starting spot to Kemar Lawrence. Sanchez and Stolz, both rookies, and Wallace were in their first seasons with New York.

The Red Bulls also announced their players under contract for 2016, including goalkeeper Ryan Meara, back from a season-long loan to New York City FC, and 16-year-old US youth international Tyler Adams, signed to a USL contract in March.

Out in the Western Conference, the Seattle Sounders also announced their roster moves on Wednesday. The club picked up contract options for 10 players: goalkeepers Stefan Frei and Charlie Lyon; defenders Oniel Fisher, Damion Lowe, Chad Marshall, Tyrone Mears, Jimmy Ockford and Dylan Remick; midfielders Aaron Kovar and Lamar Neagle; and forward Victor Mansaray.

Seattle declined the contract options of the following players: Micheal Azira, Chad Barrett, Andrés Correa, Leo Gonzalez, Marco Pappa, Troy Perkins, Gonzalo Pineda, Zach Scott and Thomás. Midfielder Andy Rose is currently out of contract for the 2016 season and has been offered a new agreement with the club, as has forward Andy Craven.

10 players were already under contract for 2016: Defenders Brad Evans and Román Torres, midfielders Osvaldo Alonso, Erik Friberg, Andreas Ivanschitz and Cristian Roldan, and forwards Clint Dempsey, Darwin Jones, Obafemi Martins and Nelson Valdez.