48 MLS players named to preliminary rosters for Copa América Centenario

Chris Wondolowski - San Jose Earthquakes - Yell

The Copa América Centenario’s preliminary rosters were officially announced on Wednesday, and one thing is pretty clear: There could be a lot of familiar faces for MLS fans.

48 MLS players were named to the initial rosters for the 16 teams participating in the tournament, which will be held in the US from June 3-26. The US lead the way with 19 players from MLS on their initial 40-man list, followed by Jamaica, who have called in 11 MLS players.

While most of the MLS players potentially involved with the tournament are involved with CONCACAF teams, there are four players who could be a part of CONMEBOL teams as well. Orlando City's Kaká (Brazil) and Cristian Higuita (Colombia), Seattle's Nelson Valdez (Paraguay) and FC Dallas' Carlos Gruezo (Ecuador) all made the initial cut for their national teams.

Here is the complete list of Copa América Centenario preliminary call-ups from MLS:

Kellyn Acosta – FC Dallas
Jozy Altidore – Toronto FC
Matt Besler – Sporting Kansas City
Kyle Beckerman – Real Salt Lake
David Bingham – San Jose Earthquakes
Steve Birnbaum – D.C United
Michael Bradley – Toronto FC
Clint Dempsey – Seattle Sounders
Mix Diskerud – New York City FC
Brad Evans – Seattle Sounders
Ethan Finlay - Columbus Crew SC
Jermaine Jones – Colorado Rapids
Jordan Morris - Seattle Sounders
Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
Lee Nguyen – New England Revolution
Nick Rimando – Real Salt Lake
Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes
Gyasi Zardes – LA Galaxy
Graham Zusi – Sporting Kansas City


Kaká – Orlando City


Cristian Higuita – Orlando City


Christian Bolaños – Vancouver Whitecaps
Waylon Francis – Columbus Crew SC
Ronald Matarrita – New York City FC
Alvaro Saborío – D.C. United
Johan Venegas – Montreal Impact
Kendall Waston – Vancouver Whitecaps


Carlos Gruezo – FC Dallas


Soni Mustivar – Sporting Kansas City
Zachary Herivaux – New England Revolution
Derrick Etienne – New York Red Bulls


Giles Barnes – Houston Dynamo
Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union
Simon Dawkins – San Jose Earthquakes
Oniel Fisher – Seattle Sounders
Omar Holness – Real Salt Lake
Kemar Lawrence – New York Red Bulls
Darren Mattocks – Portland Timbers
Demar Phillips – Real Salt Lake
Alvas Powell – Portland Timbers
Jermaine Taylor – Portland Timbers
Je-Vaughn Watson – New England Revolution


Giovani dos Santos – LA Galaxy


Anibal Godoy – San Jose Earthquakes
Blas Pérez – Vancouver Whitecaps
Alberto Quintero– San Jose Earthquakes
Román Torres – Seattle Sounders


Nelson Valdez – Seattle Sounders