Copa America Centenario logo updated

CONCACAF, CONMEBOL and the Copa América Centenario Local Organizing Committee announced on Thursday the 10 US venues that will host Copa América Centenario games, to be played from June 3-26, 2016, including three MLS stadiums.

The host metropolitan areas and respective stadiums are: Boston (Gillette Stadium), Chicago (Soldier Field), Houston (NRG Stadium), Los Angeles (Rose Bowl), New York (MetLife Stadium), Orlando (Orlando Citrus Bowl Stadium), Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field), Phoenix (University of Phoenix Stadium), San Francisco (Levi’s Stadium) and Seattle (CenturyLink Field).

Current MLS season ticket holders will be eligible to purchase tickets for the Copa América Centenario during an exclusive private sale. More information on the ticket allocation process will be communicated in the coming weeks.

Similar to the FIFA World Cup, each venue will host matches on multiple days through the tournament. Most venues will host at least three games.

Chosen from among 24 candidates that originally submitted bids earlier this year, the stadiums passed rigorous standards – including minimum seating capacity of 60,000 and other world-class infrastructure requirements – in order to host matches of this high-profile tournament which is sure to draw multitudes of fans to venues across the country.

The 2016 Copa América Centenario is the historic centennial edition of Copa América – the South American championship – and will be staged outside of South America for the first time. The tournament will feature six teams from CONCACAF and all 10 teams from the South American football confederation, CONMEBOL.

From CONCACAF, host United States and Mexico are automatic qualifiers, while Costa Rica (2014 Copa Centroamericana winners) and Jamaica (2014 CFU Caribbean Cup winners) qualified with regional championships last year.

The final two teams from CONCACAF will be determined in a doubleheader playoff set to be played on Jan. 8, 2016, in Panama City. Trinidad & Tobago will face Haiti, and Panama square off against Cuba, with the winners qualifying for the Copa América Centenario.