Awards - 2020 - Golden Boot - Rossi

LAFC's Diego Rossi wins the 2020 MLS Golden Boot presented by Audi

LAFC star Diego Rossi has emerged from a stellar individual season as the top goal-scorer in MLS, and the winner of the 2020 MLS Golden Boot presented by Audi.

Following LAFC's Decision Day presented by AT&T, Rossi finishes atop the pack with 14 goals from 19 appearances. It's the second straight season an LAFC standout has taken home the honors, after Rossi's teammate Carlos Vela won the award with his record-breaking 34-goal campaign of 2019.

Rossi was followed by Columbus Crew SC's Gyasi ZardesChicago Fire FC's Robert Beric and the Seattle SoundersRaul Ruidiaz with 12 goals each. The other players to hit double-digit goals in 2020 were the LA Galaxy's Cristian PavonOrlando City SC's Chris Mueller and Seattle's Jordan Morris, who each scored 10.

Rossi's Golden Boot-winning season

Rossi joins the pantheon of players to win the Golden Boot, which has been awarded since the league's inaugural season in 1996.

From 1996-2004, it was awarded under a points-based system that gave two points for a goal and one for an assist, before switching to outright goals. Check out the full list of Golden Boot winners below.

MLS Golden Boot Winners 1996-2004 (points-based system)

Year Player Club Points
1996 Roy Lassiter Tampa Bay Mutiny 58
1997 Preki  Kansas City Wizards 41
1998 Stern John Columbus Crew 57
1999 Jason Kreis Dallas Burn 51
2000 Mamadou Diallo Tampa Bay Mutiny 56
2001 Alex Pineda Chacón Miami Fusion 47
2002 Taylor Twellman New England Revolution 52
2003 Preki Kansas City Wizards 41

Amado Guevara

Pat Noonan


New England Revolution


MLS Golden Boot Winners 2005-2020 (outright goals)

Year Player Club  Goals
2005 Taylor Twellman New England Revolution 17
2006 Jeff Cunningham Real Salt Lake 16
2007 Luciano Emilio D.C. United 20
2008 Landon Donovan Los Angeles Galaxy 20
2009 Jeff Cunningham FC Dallas 17
2010 Chris Wondolowski San Jose Earthquakes 18
2011 Dwayne De Rosario D.C. United 16
2012 Chris Wondolowski San Jose Earthquakes 27
2013 Camilo Sanvezzo Vancouver Whitecaps FC 22
2014 Bradley Wright-Phillips New York Red Bulls 27
2015 Sebastian Giovinco Toronto FC 22
2016 Bradley Wright-Phillips New York Red Bulls 24
2017 Nemanja Nikolić Chicago Fire 24
2018 Josef Martínez Atlanta United 31
2019 Carlos Vela LAFC 34
2020 Diego Rossi LAFC 14