MLS Homegrown Team vs. Club América Under-20s | 2015 Chipotle MLS Homegrown Game Preview

MLS Homegrown Team vs. Club América U-20s
2015 Chipotle MLS Homegrown Game
July 28 | 9 pm ET | Dick’s Sporting Goods Park, Commerce City, Colo.
MLS LIVE, Sirius XM 94

Some of Major League Soccer’s best young talent is ready to be put to the test against one of North America’s biggest clubs, with 22 of MLS’s top Homegrown Players set to face off against the Club América Under-20s on Tuesday at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in the second annual Chipotle MLS Homegrown Game (9 pm ET, MLS LIVE).

The match comes just one day ahead of Wednesday’s 2015 AT&T MLS All-Star Game against Tottenham Hotspur, which will also be played at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

USMNT and LA Galaxy legend Landon Donovan will coach the Homegrown team. Donovan named the roster last week, selecting hometown Colorado Rapids Shane O’Neill and Dillon Serna, Chicago Fire standout Harry Shipp, Vancouver Whitecaps Canadian international Russell Teibert and US U-20 internationals Tommy Thompson and Bradford Jamieson IV, among others.

Five teams have multiple players on the roster. FC Dallas lead the way with three players on the team, while the Rapids, Columbus Crew SC, LA Galaxy and Vancouver Whitecaps each have a pair of players on the squad.

They’ll face a stiff test in the América U-20s, who won the Fuerzas Básicas Sub-20 Clasura regular season with a 10-2-5 record. Las Aguilas feature some of Mexico’s brightest young stars, including forward Alejandro Diaz, who was part of the Mexico team at this year’s FIFA Under-20 World Cup, and defender Bryan Colula, who started for América earlier this month in International Champions Cup play.


Goalkeepers (2): Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Matt Lampson (Columbus Crew SC)

Defenders (6): Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City), Jalen Robinson (D.C. United), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy), Tyler Turner (Orlando City)

Midfielders (9): Jay Chapman (Toronto FC), Sean Davis (New York Red Bulls), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union), Memo Rodriguez (Houston Dynamo), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Harry Shipp (Chicago Fire), Ben Swanson (Columbus Crew SC), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps), Alex Zendejas (FC Dallas)

Forwards (5): Coy Craft (FC Dallas), Kianz Froese (Vancouver Whitecaps), Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Montreal Impact), Bradford Jamieson IV (LA Galaxy), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)

Injured: Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake) withdrew due to injury