RSL's Nat Borchers holds the Rocky Mountain Cup trophy after a 0-0 draw vs. Colorado
Getty Images

Real Salt Lake clinch 7th Rocky Mountain Cup honors with 1-0 win over Colorado Rapids

The Cup is head back to the Wasatch front.

With their 1-0 win at Dick's Sporting Goods Park on Saturday night, Real Salt Lake have snatched the Rocky Mountain Cup back from the Colorado Rapids. The victory guarantees the Claret-and-Cobalt will win the season series between the archrivals after RSL took the first of three meetings this season, a 2-1 win at Rio Tinto Stadium back on May 17.

Real Salt Lake have now won the Rocky Mountain Cup seven times in the 10 years it has been contested. RSL captured the trophy six straight times from 2007-12 until Colorado won it back last season.

Saturday's victory also gives RSL the edge in all-time regular-season matchups between the two, with an 11-10-9 record against their Rocky Mountain rivals.

Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android