Chris Wondolowski, San Jose Earthquakes, acknowledges the crowd after tying MLS' single-season goals record.
Getty Images

It's official: San Jose's Wondolowski wins 2nd career MLS Golden Boot

San Jose's Chris Wondolowski probably locked up the 2012 MLS Golden Boot as the top scorer in the league months ago, but it become official on Sunday night after the league's regular-season finale finished. 

Wondolowski finished with 27 goals for the year, tying Roy Lassiter's 16-year-old single-season record. Wondo struck his 27th and final goal of the season on a penalty kick in a 1-1 draw away to the Portland Timbers on Saturday night. 

This is the second Golden Boot in three years for Wondolowski. He also won it in 2010, when he scored 18 goals. In 2011, he tied for the league lead in goals with 16, but lost out on the Golden Boot to D.C. United's Dwayne De Rosario because DeRo had more assists. 

Five other players have led the league in goals in history: Lassiter (1996, T-1999) Stern John (1998, T-1999), Carlos Ruiz (2002, T-2003), Taylor Twellman (T-2003, 2005), and Jeff Cunningham (2006, 2009).

Wondolowski has scored 61 goals in the last three years, and now has 68 career goals in league play, ranking him 20th in league history. 

Final 2012 Golden Boot Rankings

  1. Chris Wondolowski, San Jose - 27 goals
  2. Kenny Cooper, New York - 18 goals
  3. Alvaro Saborio, RSL - 17 goals
  4. Robbie Keane, LA - 16 goals
  5. Thierry Henry, New York - 15 goals
  6. Eddie Johnson, Seattle - 14 goals
  7. Fredy Montero, Seattle - 13 goals
  8. Alan Gordon, San Jose - 13 goals
  9. Chris Pontius, DC - 12 goals
  10. Will Bruin, Houston - 12 goals


Wondo's 27th Goal