Ryan Suarez saw his first action for the Metros in the loss to San Jose.
John Todd/MLS/WireImage.com

MetroStars tripped up in San Jose

Spartan Stadium

Scoring Summary:
MET -- own goal (Ricardo Clark) 32
SJ -- Mark Chung 4 (Dwayne De Rosario 8, Alejandro Moreno 3) 33
SJ -- Dwayne De Rosario 3 (Mark Chung 2, Kelly Gray 2) 53

MetroStars -- Tony Meola, Ryan Suarez (Chris Leitch 66), Carlos Mendes, Jeff Parke (Seth Stammler 87), Jeff Agoos, Eddie Gaven, Mark Lisi (Danilo da Silva 76), Mike Magee, Sergio Galvan Rey, Abbe Ibrahim, Ante Razov.

Substitutes Not Used: Tim Ward, Zach Wells.

TOTAL SHOTS: 7 (Abbe Ibrahim 2); SHOTS ON GOAL: 1 (Abbe Ibrahim 1); FOULS: 17 (Abbe Ibrahim 6); OFFSIDES: 2 (Abbe Ibrahim 1, Ante Razov 1); CORNER KICKS: 3 (Mike Magee 3); SAVES: 5 (Tony Meola 5)

San Jose Earthquakes -- Pat Onstad, Kelly Gray, Danny Califf, Eddie Robinson, Wade Barrett, Brian Mullan, Ricardo Clark, Dwayne De Rosario, Mark Chung, Ronald Cerritos, Alejandro Moreno.

Substitutes Not Used: Chris Aloisi, Jon Conway, Kevin Goldthwaite, Wes Hart, Julian Nash, Danny O'Rourke, Orlando Ramirez, Ian Russell, Chris Wondolowski.

TOTAL SHOTS: 18 (Alejandro Moreno 4); SHOTS ON GOAL: 7 (Dwayne De Rosario 2); FOULS: 12 (Dwayne De Rosario 3, Alejandro Moreno 3); OFFSIDES: 7 (Ronald Cerritos 3, Alejandro Moreno 3); CORNER KICKS: 3 (Mark Chung 2); SAVES: 1 (Pat Onstad 1)

Misconduct Summary:
MET -- Mike Magee (caution; Reckless Foul) 26
MET -- Abbe Ibrahim (caution; Reckless Foul) 77

Referee: Baldomero Toledo
Referee's Assistants: Chris Strickland; Emiliano Monje
4th Official: Colin Arblaster
Attendance: 10,302
Time of Game: 1:49
Weather: Sunny-and-94-degrees

All Statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.