Goal of the Year

Seattle Sounders forward Obafemi Martins captures 2014 AT&T Goal of the Year for Week 11 chip

Obafemi Martins may have missed out on MVP honors, but the fans have spoken: the Seattle Sounders forward scored the best goal of 2014, capturing 2014 AT&T Goal of the Year honors on Thursday.

The Nigerian DP captured the award for his Week 11 chipped effort from close to the touchline that he managed to loft over San Jose Earthquakes goalkeeper Jon Busch and into the far corner.

Martins' effort was the last one standing from a field of 64 goals (32 AT&T Goal of the Week winners and 32 more selected by MLSsoccer.com staff). He garnered over 50 percent of the vote in the final round of four, topping efforts from New York's Thierry Henry, Portland Timbers midfielder Will Johnson, and fellow MVP finalist and New England Revolution midfielder Lee Nguyen.

It is the second Goal of the Year award for a Sounders player, after Patrick Ianni won the award in 2012. It also marks the fourth year in a row the winner has come from a Cascadia team, following Darlington Nagbe (Portland, 2011), Ianni and Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver, 2013).

To relive any of the 64 goals up for vote, please visit the Goal of the Year homepage.

2014 AT&T Goal of the Year Final Fan Vote:

1. Obafemi Martins (SEA), Week 11 vs. SJ – 51.82%
2. Will Johnson (POR), Week 13 vs. VAN – 28.23%
3. Thierry Henry (NY), Week 26 vs. SKC – 13.22%
4. Lee Nguyen (NE), Week 32 vs. HOU – 6.73%

AT&T Goal of the Year Winners:

2014: Obafemi Martins - Seattle Sounders
2013:Camilo Sanvezzo - Vancouver Whitecaps
2012:Patrick Ianni - Seattle Sounders
2011:Darlington Nagbe - Portland Timbers
2010:Marco Pappa - Chicago Fire
2009: Landon Donovan - LA Galaxy
2008: Will Johnson - Real Salt Lake
2007: Cuauhtémoc Blanco - Chicago Fire
2006: Brian Ching - Houston Dynamo
2005: Dwayne De Rosario - San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Dwayne De Rosario - San Jose Earthquakes
2003: Damani Ralph - Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Ruiz - LA Galaxy
2001: Clint Mathis - NY/NJ MetroStars
2000: Marcelo Balboa - Colorado Rapids
1999: Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United
1998: Brian McBride - Columbus Crew
1997: Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United
1996: Eric Wynalda - San Jose Clash