Media Resources

Matt Lampson Named MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year Presented by AdvoCare

2018 Awards - Humanitarian of the year - Matt Lampson

NEW YORK (November 8, 2018) – Major League Soccer today announced Matt Lampson as the 2018 MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, presented by AdvoCare. The veteran goalkeeper has been active in raising awareness for Hodgkin’s Lymphoma since 2013 when he started the LampStrong Foundation (which became an official 501(c)3 in 2014), after being diagnosed with the disease himself at the age of 17. Lampson beat the disease and signed his first professional contract seven years ago with Columbus Crew SC.

“Our clubs, partners and supporters are committed to making a difference in our communities and we’re proud to have players across the League who play such a vital role in those efforts,” said JoAnn Neale, Chief Administrative & Social Responsibility Officer, Major League Soccer. “Matt Lampson has changed countless lives with his generosity and commitment to helping others. He is an exceptional person with a unique ability to educate and inspire. We’re proud to honor Matt as this season’s MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year."

While in Columbus, Lampson became the Spokesperson for the Central Ohio Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) Chapter, and in addition to helping raise awareness for blood cancers, he began giving back to the children who were experiencing what he did. Lampson launched the Hero program and for the last six years, he has hosted a child battling cancer along with his/her family at each of his MLS matches.

The mission of the LampStrong Foundations is to provide difference-making financial, emotional and motivational support to cancer patients and families in all the stages of cancer treatment and recovery and to fund proven cancer researchers. The vision of the foundation is to positively influence the lives of those battling cancer and to encourage survivors and their families to make the most of their second chance at life.

Most recently, Lampson has been scheduling regular hospital visits to see the children at University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital. Lampson makes trips to the hospital every month doing everything from specialized events including a World Cup Watch Party in June to a National Donut Day in October to patient room visits. Lampson has dedicated his time to finding partner organizations in Minnesota that support the LampStrong Foundation’s mission. Cardigan Donuts is one of those organizations and Lampson is coordinating to create a custom LampStrong Donut to be featured and sold at Cardigan.

"On behalf of AdvoCare, our 600,000 Distributors and Preferred Customers and the Ragus Family, I am excited to congratulate Minnesota Goalkeeper Matt Lampson, for being named this year's MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year," says Allison Levy, Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer for AdvoCare. "AdvoCare was founded on the principle of being advocates who care and strongly believes in taking the initiative to give back. We are proud to partner with MLS WORKS to present this special honor to Matt who has gone above and beyond in exemplifying these qualities not only with his LampStrong Foundation, but also his work with AdvoCare and MLS WORKS during All-Star Week community days." 

In recognition of Lampson’s humanitarian efforts, MLS WORKS will donate $5,000 to the LampStrong Foundation.

MLS teams had an opportunity to nominate candidates for the Humanitarian of the Year award (view all nominees), which was voted on by club officials, media and MLS players.

<strong>Matt Lampson (MIN)</strong>
Wil Trapp (CLB)
Luis Robles (RBNY)
Zarek Valentin (POR)
Brad Guzan (ATL)

MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year Winners

  • 2018: Matt Lampson (Minnesota United)
  • 2017: Ryan Hollingshead (FC Dallas)
  • 2016: Matt Lampson (Chicago Fire)
  • 2015: Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC)
  • 2014: AJ DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy)
  • 2013: Matt Reis (New England Revolution)
  • 2012: Chris Seitz (FC Dallas)
  • 2011: Zak Boggs (New England Revolution)
  • 2010: Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)
  • 2009: Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards); Logan Pause (Chicago Fire)
  • 2008: Jose Burciaga Jr. (Colorado Rapids)
  • 2007: Diego Gutierrez (Chicago Fire)
  • 2006: Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution)
  • 2005: Brian Kamler (Real Salt Lake)
  • 2004: Chris Henderson (Colorado Rapids)
  • 2003: Ben Olsen (D.C. United)
  • 2002: Steve Jolley (MetroStars)
  • 2001: Tim Howard (MetroStars)
  • 2000: Abdul Thompson Conteh (San Jose Earthquakes)