FC Cincinnati to select five players through MLS Expansion Draft Dec. 11

Cincinnati - MLS2CINCY image

FC Cincinnati will have the opportunity to build its roster via the MLS 2018 Expansion Draft, which the league announced today will take place Tuesday, December 11. 

FC Cincinnati will begin MLS play in 2019 as a club in the Eastern Conference, and through the Expansion Draft will select five current MLS players to help shape the core of their inaugural roster. FC Cincinnati’s Expansion Draft selections will be announced live at 2 pm ET during a special Expansion Draft selection show on MLSsoccer.com.

Since 2014, each round of expansion has involved two incoming clubs selecting players from the eligible player list. Therefore, for the purpose of the Expansion Draft, LAFC and FC Cincinnati are considered a single round of expansion. While the two expansion clubs are selecting players in successive years, for competitive consistency, current MLS teams that had players selected by LAFC in the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft will be exempt from the 2018 MLS Expansion Draft. These include Columbus Crew SC, San Jose Earthquakes, Seattle Sounders, Sporting Kansas City, and Toronto FC. (LAFC players, however, will be eligible for selection by FC Cincinnati.) 

FC Cincinnati will receive additional allocation money as compensation for a reduction in the eligible player pool due to the exempted teams.

The complete list of players eligible for selection by FC Cincinnati in the 2018 MLS Expansion Draft will be released on Monday, Dec. 10.