Goal of the Year

Columbus Crew SC's Darlington Nagbe wins 2020 AT&T Goal of the Year

The votes are in and Columbus Crew SC midfielder Darlington Nagbe has won the 2020 AT&T Goal of the Year, Major League Soccer announced Friday.

Nagbe claimed the honors with a stunning volley in the Crew’s 3-0 win over Chicago Fire FC on Aug. 20, popping the ball up to himself before launching home a screamer in the 81st minute. It stood as Nagbe’s only goal of the season, with his efforts helping Columbus earn the No. 3 seed in the Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs.

It’s the second time Nagbe has won Goal of the Year, with the midfielder also winning the 2011 edition for another long-range blast. In a similar pop-up fashion, the 2011 golazo came during his time at the Portland Timbers, when Nagbe collected a clearance against Sporting Kansas City before hitting an outside-of-the-foot volley into the top corner.

Nagbe, 30, joined Columbus via trade from Atlanta United ahead of the 2020 season. One of the club’s three Designated Players, he finished with one goal and one assist in 15 matches (14 starts) while battling injuries. He’s also earned 25 caps with the US men’s national team.

Looking through the history books, this is the second time a Columbus player earned Goal of the Year honors. Brian McBride won the 1998 version for an incredible side volley off a cross from the right flank.

AT&T Goal of the Year Winners