Media Resources

2020 MLS End-of-Year Waivers: Rules & Procedure

25th Season - generic primary image

2020 MLS End-of-Year Waivers: Rules & Procedure
The 2020 MLS End-of-Year Waivers takes place four days after the 2020 MLS Cup, occurring after the MLS Expansion Draft and before Stage 1 of the MLS Re-Entry Draft.
Key dates:

  • MLS End-of-Year Waivers: Wednesday. Dec. 16 at 1 p.m. ET
  • A list of players eligible for MLS End-of-Year Waivers is officially released on Monday, Dec. 14 at 10 a.m. ET
  • MLS clubs must notify the League Office in writing of the players whose options they are exercising.

Option Exercise Deadlines:
Non-Postseason Teams:
Nov. 30
Teams Eliminated in Round One:
Nov. 30
Teams in Conference Semifinals and beyond:
One day after elimination
Teams in MLS Cup:
Dec. 13
Key parameters:
The MLS End-of-Year Waivers process consists of players whose options are not exercised, who are not subject to first right of refusal, and who don’t meet the minimum age and years of service requirement for the Re-Entry Draft or Free Agency – mostly young players .
Players under contract for 2021 who are selected in MLS End-of-Year Waivers will be automatically added to the drafting club’s roster. Clubs that claim players out of contract at the end of 2020 must issue a genuine offer to the selected player.
MLS End-of-Year Waivers process:
The selection process is determined by the 
reverse order of the final standings in the 2020 MLS season
, taking into account postseason performance. FC Cincinnati will get the first pick and the MLS Cup champion will get the 26th pick. Expansion side Austin FC will get the 27th pick, the final selection in each round.
Once the MLS End-of-Year Waivers process is complete, those players who have not been selected may be signed by any MLS team on a first-come, first-served basis.
2020 End-of-Year Waivers Selection Order

<div align="center">1</div>
<div>FC Cincinnati</div>
<div align="center">2</div>
<div>Houston Dynamo</div>
<div align="center">3</div>
<div>D.C. United</div>
<div align="center">4</div>
<div>Atlanta United</div>
<div align="center">5</div>
<div>Chicago Fire FC</div>
<div align="center">6</div>
<div>Real Salt Lake</div>
<div align="center">7</div>
<div>LA Galaxy</div>
<div align="center">8</div>
Vancouver Whitecaps FC
<div align="center">9</div>
<div>Inter Miami CF</div>
<div align="center">10</div>
<div>Montreal Impact</div>
<div align="center">11</div>
<div>San Jose Earthquakes</div>
<div align="center">12</div>
<div>New York Red Bulls</div>
<div align="center">13</div>
<div>Los Angeles Football Club</div>
<div align="center">14</div>
Colorado Rapids
<div align="center">15</div>
<div>Portland Timbers</div>
<div align="center">16</div>
New York City FC
<div align="center">17</div>
Toronto FC
<div align="center">18</div>
<div>Philadelphia Union</div>
<div align="center">19</div>
<div>Nashville SC</div>
<div align="center">20</div>
<div>FC Dallas</div>
<div align="center">21</div>
<div>Orlando City SC</div>
<div align="center">22</div>
<div>Sporting Kansas City</div>
<div align="center">23</div>
<div>New England Revolution</div>
<div align="center">24</div>
Minnesota United FC
<div align="center">25</div>
Seattle Sounders FC
<div align="center">26</div>
Columbus Crew SC
<div align="center">27</div>
<div>Austin FC</div>