U.S. Open Cup Trophy

Update (Thursday, 11:25 am ET)

The semifinal sites are set, with New England slated to host Chicago and LA scheduled to host FC Dallas, with both matches scheduled for August 10.

The Fire will host the Open Cup final on September 21 if they win their semifinal. The winner of the Dallas and LA match would host New England should the Revolution progress from the semifinal.

Full hosting priority for the final is below:

  1. Chicago
  2. LA
  3. Dallas
  4. New England

Original Text (Thursday, 12:35 am ET)

And then there were four.

The teams are set for the semifinal round of the 2016 US Open Cup, following the quarterfinal games on Wednesday. Two MLS Eastern Conference foes, the New England Revolution and Chicago Fire, will square off in one side of the bracket, while FC Dallas will face fellow MLS Western Conference opponent LA Galaxy in the other semifinal match-up.

While the match-ups are known and are expected to take place on August 10, the host for each game is not yet determined. US Soccer will announce the respective hosts on Thursday.

New England had a tight decision in their quarterfinal game, as they defeated the Philadelphia Union 4-2 in a penalty shootout after a 1-1 tie through 120 minutes. Je-Vaughn Watson scored his first goal for the club as well as the clinching penalty in the shootout.

The Fire, meanwhile, defeated the final non-MLS team left in the competition, the Fort Lauderdale Strikers, 3-0 at Toyota Park. David Accam scored a goal and an assist for the victors.

Across the Mississippi, FC Dallas won the night's Open Cup derby, with Fabian Castillo's second-half stoppage time tally delivering Dallas the 1-0 victory on the road against their Texas rivals, the Houston Dynamo.

And LA booked the final ticket to the semifinals, as the Galaxy defeated the Seattle Sounders 4-2 in a back-and-forth affair at the StubHub Center Track and Field stadium. The Sounders took the lead twice, but two late goals from Sebastian Lletget sealed the victory for the hosts.

All four teams left in the tournament have won the Open Cup previously. FC Dallas (1997) and New England (2007) have won it once each, while the Galaxy (2001, 2005) have taken the title twice and Chicago (1998, 2000, 2003, 2006) have won it four times.