Gregg Berhalter - USMNT - close up
John Dorton/ISI Photos

US men's national team announces roster for annual January camp

The US men's national team announced the program's first roster of 2020, for the annual January camp. The group will train and play closed-door scrimmages from Jan. 5-25 at the Aspire Academy in Doha, Qatar, before facing Costa Rica on Feb. 1 at Dignity Health Sports Park.

As normal, with Major League Soccer in its offseason, the roster leans heavily on the league, though not exclusive. 

Of the 25 players, 22 are MLS-based and deploy a mix of young and old, experienced and promising. Regulars Aaron Long, Gyasi Zardes and Paul Arriola lead the way, while uncapped youngsters like Brenden Aaronson, Julian Araujo and Jesus Ferreira are involved. Ferreira recently was granted US citizenship. Bill Hamid also earned his first call-up under head coach Gregg Berhalter.

Those MLSers are joined by Wolfburg's Uly Llanez, Bryang Kayo and Hobro's Christian Cappis. 

“At the start of an exciting year, this is a great opportunity to continue our process and build on the foundation established in the last 12 months,” Berhalter said in a statement. “At the same, there are a number of players getting their first exposure to the senior national team who will be provided the platform to make a positive impression. We appreciate all the support and cooperation from MLS and the clubs that released their players and gave us a chance to get a head start on the challenges ahead.”

USA roster for January 2020 camp

Pos. Player Club
GK Johnson, Sean New York City FCNYCFC
GK Hamid, Bill D.C. United
GK Marcinkowski, JT San Jose EarthquakesSan Jose
GK Turner, Matt New England RevolutionNE Revolution
D Araujo, Julian LA Galaxy
D Cannon, Reggie FC Dallas
D Gasper, Chase Minnesota UnitedMinnesota
D Glad, Justen Real Salt LakeRSL
D Long, Aaron NY Red Bulls
D McKenzie, Mark Philadelphia UnionPhiladelphia
D Vines, Sam Colorado RapidsColorado
D Zimmerman, Walker LAFC
M Aaronson, Brenden Philadelphia UnionPhiladelphia
M Cappis, Christian Hobro
M Kayo, Bryang Unattached
M Lletget, Sebastian LA Galaxy
M Pomykal, Paxton FC Dallas
M Roldan, Cristian Seattle SoundersSeattle
M Yueill, Jackson San Jose EarthquakesSan Jose
F Arriola, Paul D.C. United
F Ferreira, Jesus FC Dallas
F Lewis, Jonathan Colorado RapidsColorado
F Llanez, Ulysses Wolfsburg
F Morris, Jordan Seattle SoundersSeattle
F Zardes, Gyasi Columbus Crew SCColumbus