FC Cincinnati vs. Houston Dynamo | 2019 MLS Match Preview

2019 MLS Regular Season — Week 18
FC Cincinnati vs. Houston Dynamo
 Nippert Stadium — Cincinnati
July 6 - 7:30 PM ET


Unbeaten at home but with one win away from BBVA Stadium, the Houston Dynamo look to reverse their road form when they meet struggling FC Cincinnati at Nippert Stadium Saturday night.

FC Cincinnati (3-13-2) suffered a sixth consecutive loss Saturday, courtesy of a 7-1 defeat to Minnesota United at Allianz Field. The Loons led 3-0 in the opening half hour and made it 4-0 at the break before Emmanuel Ledesma scored the expansion side's lone goal in the 56th minute. The hosts tacked on three more goals inside the final 20 minutes. 

Houston (8-6-3) made it 10 games without defeat at home with a resounding 4-0 drubbing of the New York Red Bulls Wednesday night to snap a five-match winless streak. Mauro Manotas opened the scoring in the 39th minute, before Tomas Martinez made it 2-0 in the 56th minute. In his first start since returning from competing for Honduras at the Concacaf Gold Cup, Alberth Elis added a late brace to seal the decisive victory.  

FC Cincinnati

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Jimmy McLaughlin (M) - right ACL surgery
    • OUT: Greg Garza (D) - right calf injury
    • OUT: Fatai Alashe (M) - hamstring injury
    • QUESTIONABLE: Roland Lamah (M) - hamstring injury
    • QUESTIONABLE: Fanendo Adi (F) - hamstring injury
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution:  None
  • International duty:  None

Houston Dynamo

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Eric Bird (M) - hip injury
    • OUT: Memo Rodriguez (M) - left hamstring
    • QUESTIONABLE: DaMarcus Beasley (D) - left knee injury
  • Suspended: Maynor Figueroa (D)
  • Suspended after next caution: A.J. DeLaGarza (D)
  • International duty:  None

Series Matchup at FC Cincinnati

  • This is the first all-time regular season meeting between FC Cincinnati and the Houston Dynamo


  • Referee: Dave Gantar
  • Assistant Referees: Oscar Mitchell-Carvalho, Andrew Bigelow
  • 4th Official: Rosendo Mendoza
  • VAR: Victor Rivas