2018 Awards - Referee of the Year - Alan Kelly

Alan Kelly earns MLS Referee of the Year honor for third time

Alan Kelly is the 2018 MLS Referee of the Year, Major League Soccer and PRO announced on Friday morning.

It's the third time in four seasons Kelly has received the honor. The 43-year-old Irishman was also recognized in 2015 and 2016. In addition, he has been named the lead referee for the 2018 MLS Cup on Saturday, Dec. 8 (8 pm ET | FOX, UniMás; TSN, TVAS).

Meanwhile, Joe Fletcher has been voted MLS Assistant Referee of the Year. A first-time recipient of the award, Fletcher was one of five officials to represent PRO at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. He called 100th MLS game this past August.

“This has been another successful year for the Professional Referee Organization, and I’m delighted to see Alan Kelly named as our MLS Referee of the Year and Joe Fletcher as our MLS Assistant Referee of the Year,” PRO General Manager Howard Webb said in a statement. “They are excellent ambassadors for PRO and provide strong examples of the professionalism of our group, both domestically and internationally. Joe and Alan achieved high standards in all facets of their work, and PRO continues to make great strides in our accuracy, our impact on key moments and in our expanding influence in the Video Review realm.”

Both distinctions are voted on by MLS club management, media and players, with finalists determined by U.S. Soccer, the Canadian Soccer Association and the MLS Competition Committee. Check out the full voting breakdown for each award below.

Voting Results

Nominee – Referee of the Year Player
Alan Kelly 54.49% 41.67% 43.14% 46.43%
Robert Sibiga 23.26% 41.67% 22.55% 29.16%
Nima Saghafi 22.26% 16.67% 34.31% 24.41%
Nominee – Asst. Referee of the Year Player
Joe Fletcher 49.13% 42.42% 29.47% 40.34%
Corey Rockwell 24.04% 42.42% 44.21% 36.89%
CJ Morgante 26.83% 15.15% 26.32% 22.77%

MLS Referee of the Year Winners

  • 2018: Alan Kelly
  • 2017: Allen Chapman
  • 2016: Alan Kelly
  • 2015: Alan Kelly
  • 2014: Mark Geiger
  • 2013: Hilario Grajeda
  • 2012: Silviu Petrescu
  • 2011: Mark Geiger
  • 2010: Kevin Stott
  • 2009: Alex Prus
  • 2008: Jair Marrufo
  • 2007: Brian Hall
  • 2006: Brian Hall
  • 2005: Brian Hall
  • 2004: Abiodun Okulaja
  • 2003: Brian Hall
  • 2002: Kevin Terry
  • 2001: Paul Tamberino
  • 2000: Paul Tamberino
  • 1999: Paul Tamberino
  • 1998: Paul Tamberino
  • 1997: Esse Baharmast

MLS Assistant Referee of the Year Winners

  • 2018: Joe Fletcher
  • 2017: Corey Parker
  • 2016: Frank Anderson
  • 2015: Corey Parker
  • 2014: Paul Scott
  • 2013: Kermit Quisenberry
  • 2012: Ian Anderson
  • 2011: Corey Rockwell
  • 2010: Craig Lowry
  • 2009: Greg Barkey
  • 2008: Kermit Quisenberry

WHO YA GOT? Make your playoff picks with the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs Bracket Challenge. It free to play and you'll have a ton of fun competing against your friends, family, and colleagues. Plus you could win great prizes!