Sebastian Giovinco - Toronto FC - Smiles after scoring
USA Today Sports Images

Toronto FC win 2018 Canadian Championship

Toronto FC have made a habit winning trophies in recent years and on Wednesday night they continued that trend.

TFC captured their third-straight Canadian Championship at BMO Field on Wednesday, beating Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7-4 on aggregate.

The title is their seventh overall in the tournament and adds to their haul from 2017, when they won the treble (Canadian Championship, Supporters' Shield, MLS Cup). No other team has won more than three Canadian Championships.

The win secures their place in the 2019 Concacaf Champions League, as they will look to win the continental championship after losing in the final to Chivas de Guadalajara in 2018.

Canadian Championship winners

  • 2008: Montreal Impact
  • 2009: Toronto FC
  • 2010: Toronto FC
  • 2011: Toronto FC
  • 2012: Toronto FC
  • 2013: Montreal Impact
  • 2014: Montreal Impact
  • 2015: Vancouver Whitecaps FC
  • 2016: Toronto FC
  • 2017: Toronto FC