Raheem Edwards - Toronto FC - Close up
USA Today Sports Images

Total of 14 MLS players called up by Canada for June 13 friendly vs Curacao

A total of 14 MLS players were called up by Canada men's national team head coach Octavio Zambrano as part of his 27-man roster ahead of a June 13 friendly match against Curacao at Montreal's Stade Saputo (7:30 pm ET on TSN and RDS) in preparation for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup. The squad will be cut down on June 9 with 18-20 players expected to dress for the match.

A total of seven MLS clubs are represented on the roster with the Montreal Impact contributing a league-high four players, one in each sector of the field (Maxime Crepeau, Wandrille Lefevre, Patrice Bernier and Anthony Jackson-Hamel).

Toronto FC have three names on the list (Raheem Edwards, Tosaint Ricketts and Jonathan Osorio), while Orlando City (Will Johson and Cyle Larin) and the Vancouver Whitecaps (Marcel de Jong and Russell Teibert) feature two players each. New York City FC's Kwame Awuah (first career call-up), FC Dallas striker Tesho Akindele and Sporting KC's Tyler Pasher round out the MLS players receiving a call. 

"We have the perfect mix of experience and youth in this squad," Zambrano said in a Canada Soccer statement. "We are looking forward to seeing how they come together on the pitch. With this camp, we have a chance to look at players for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, but also younger players that are part of our long-term plans."

The match against Curacao in front of his hometown fans at Stade Saputo could represent Bernier's 54th and final cap for Canada. His last appearance for Canada came back in January 2015.

Canada will face French Guiana (July 7), Costa Rica (July 11) and Honduras (July 14) in Group A action of the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup. Their last Gold Cup title came back in 2000.


CanMNT Roster

Goalkeepers (3)
GK Milan Borjan (MKS Korona Kielce / POL)
GK Maxime Crepeau (Montreal Impact)
GK James Pantemis (unattached)
Defenders (10)
D Dejan Jakovic (New York Cosmos / NASL)
D Manjrekar James (Vasas Budapest / HUN)
D Wandrille Lefevre (Montreal Impact)
D Adam Straith (FC Edmonton / NASL)
D Fraser Aird (unattached)
D Kwame Awuah (New York City FC)
D Juan Cordova (CD Huachipato / CHI)
D Marcel de Jong (Vancouver Whitecaps)
D Andres Fresenga (Cerro Largo FC / URU)
D Tyler Pasher (Sporting Kansas City)
Midfielders (10)
M Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas)
M Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact)
M Raheem Edwards (Toronto FC)
M Kianz Froese (Fortuna Dusseldorf / GER)
M David Junior Hoilett (Cardiff City / WAL)
M Will Johnson (Orlando City)
M Mark-Anthony Kaye (Louisville City FC / USL)
M Samuel Piette (CD Izarra / SPA)
M Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps)
M Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC)
Forwards (4)
F Marcus Haber (Dundee FC / SCO)
F Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Montreal Impact)
F Cyle Larin (Orlando City)
F Tosaint Ricketts (Toronto FC)